“I sing in the shadow of your wings.”

My eye caught the movement as she flew close to the windows in a wild arc around our L-shaped upper deck. The first few times I was sure she would collide with the glass, but so far she hasn’t.

I believe it’s a female House Finch and she may be searching for the birdfeeder that came down a few weeks ago, when it suddenly became a bearfeeder. Or she may be curious about the birdy reflection that always greets her. Although finches tend to be quite gregarious, she always comes alone.

Sometimes she lands on the roof first and later hops down, but often as not her perilous swoops take her directly to one of two hanging flower baskets just outside our family room windows.

Today she stayed for several minutes, and when I went for my camera, she watched intently. I felt guilty because I suspect she was hoping for a handout.

Sorry, little gal, there’s nothing here. But God has provided lots of goodies for you out there in the garden and woods.

.

Ms. Finch made me think of the bird songs and nature sounds that accompany the music on CD my Aunt Norma has been listening to in her hospital bed for the past five days. And that reminded me of how God provides for us. What he gives is not always what we might prefer, but it meets our needs.

This evening my aunt finally underwent surgery. She was prepared to accept whatever God had in mind for her, although she’s always anticipated living to be one hundred. Apparently God felt she should have that chance, and he brought her safely through the surgery. I am so thankful for his grace and mercy.

~

“Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.”

Psalm 63:7

.

“Beside them the birds of the heavens dwell; they sing among the branches.”

Psalm 104:12

~

~  ~  ~

Published by Carol

A freelance writer of fiction and non-fiction living on the West Coast of Canada.

9 thoughts on ““I sing in the shadow of your wings.”

    1. Thanks for your prayers, Katt. A scripture verse you mentioned in one of your earlier posts is so applicable here today, too: “He shall cover you with His feathers, And under His wings you shall take refuge.” [Psalm 91:4]

    1. Thanks, Darlene. She makes no secret of her 89 years, and while she may not be physically strong, she’s always involved in life, and busy with her various activities. If you didn’t catch it before, you might enjoy the post I wrote about her last fall: http://wp.me/phaYw-1kr

  1. I’m pleased to hear your aunt is doing well, Carol. It’s inspiring to hear that today. Maybe because it’s been raining and raining and raining. It reminds me of God’s tears.

    As usual, the photos are stunning. Can’t wait for the book!

  2. Praying for your Aunt…..all mine have passed away, and I miss having an aunt!
    Love the scriptures and bird comments. I need a laptop ’cause I am having a hard time today staying at computer ’cause such a nice, breezy day in GA, and the baby hummers are definitely out of the nests! They are loving this good red stuff to sip…lol…..and dh and I are loving watching them!
    Jackie S.

  3. Carol, I am so pleased your aunt came through surgery well. I have been wondering how she was doing. I love your photos, especially of the birds. Our feeder is hanging from the low-branched pine tree in the front yard and it is difficult to get clear shots of them.

I'd love to hear from you!