Fall Snapshots: Looking for the good stuff

They always seem to arrive before I expect them. When the Northern Flicker made his first autumn appearance here I didn’t have my camera handy. I made a dash for it, but I needn’t have hurried. He hopped onto the railing and waited impatiently.

Flicker2014

He peered up at where he’d last seen the suet and bird feeders seven months ago. How does one explain to a bird that it’s too early in the season to hang his food out… that the bears are still roaming around looking for tasty treats?

His presence was a great photo opp for me, but he soon had me feeling guilty as he moved in closer to scrutinize the usual corner where the suet hook sat empty, just under the eaves.

Flicker2014b

His buddy, a male Varied Thrush, arrived on the deck at the same time and stomped around, also peeved at his missing repast. He’s a ground feeder like the Flicker, but during past winters they’d grown accustomed to an occasional domestic supplement. Now they were here looking for a handout of the good stuff once again.

Thrush

I finally took pity on both of them and threw a few handfuls of seed on the deck while hubby hung a container of suet. If the bear arrives to chow down, too, I’m going to be frustrated, but there was only so long I could handle the guilt trip these two were dumping on me.

As I watched them enjoying the goodies, I was reminded that I will soon have to do some persistent searching of my own. As I bash out the words of a first draft during this NaNoWriMo writing marathon, I recognize that the underlying story is present, but it’s minus a lot of the good stuff… the rich descriptions, insights into my characters’ motivation, and sensory details, to name some. There is an abundance of weak verbs and supporting adverbs to cull, too, along with a lot of my typical mental meandering.

Once November 30th becomes history it will be time for me to start revising. I’ll have to dig in and search out nuggets to salvage among the drivel. In the meantime, I’m dumping words on the page, a few hundred at a time, and squelching the internal critic that tries to convince me my daily average isn’t half what it should be and I’m pursuing an impossible goal.

Total words to November 13th = 7,786

Are you writing? Are you counting words and making measurable progress, or does that matter to you? Are you focused on finishing a project and gleaning the good stuff later?

~  ~  ~

9 thoughts on “Fall Snapshots: Looking for the good stuff

  1. S. Etole says:

    Always enjoy watching the flickers in their multi-colored feathers.

  2. I love your pictures, Carol! These birds cooperated with their poses. 🙂

    I’m still heavy into editing mode, but coming down the home stretch. I expect my book will release next month.

  3. I’ve not settled into a routine yet, Carol. Want to, but the internet connection is so limited and frustrating. I find myself spending way too much time wandering about the gardens trying to find a spot where the internet will find me. Not going well, but I’m sure it’ll get better.

    • Carol says:

      I’m sure just getting relocated takes a lot of adjusting. Hopefully you’ll find a solution for the internet problem soon. In the meantime, relax and enjoy the gardens!

  4. Shari Green says:

    Love the pics! And yay for getting the words down… Go, Mom, go! 🙂

  5. pastordt says:

    What a glorious variety of birds you have!! Thanks for this loveliness today, Carol.

I'd love to hear from you!

