Fall Snapshots: Wind Whispers

From the time of my childhood, wind and waves have always invigorated me. Put me on a shore somewhere and let me listen to the pounding surf and lift my face to the onshore wind and I come away totally refreshed.

At home the wind isn’t often strong enough to hear. Occasional breezes will flutter the branches in relative silence. Prior to the current cold snap, however, the weather reports included wind warnings, and we had several days of blustery, gusting wind that made our trees sing.

“At home,
I love reaching out into that absolute silence,
when you can hear the owl or the wind.”

Amanda Harlech
~
Most days I prefer to write in silence, but if I think a little background music will help, I have a small assortment of CDs from which I select. Many are Dan Gibson‘s Solitudes albums… gentle, relaxing music accompanied by sounds from nature — wind, waves, birds. If you need something energizing, they wouldn’t be a good choice, but when I need distracting from the bustle of everyday, they are perfect.
 .
I’m always amazed by writers who do their writing in crowded coffee shops. I’m told the background becomes white noise, but I would just get sidetracked by it and start people-watching.
.
But the wind is something else. Its whisperings empty my consciousness, leaving my mind ready to be occupied by the lives of my characters. I love the wind — at least, I do until it uproots trees that tumble across hydro lines and leave my computer powerless! So far this fall we’ve been spared that inconvenience. Long may it last. I have writing to do.
.
I know I’ve asked the question before, but what’s your preferred accompaniment when writing? Silence, special music, perhaps scented candles or potpourri, or…? 
 DSC03403
~  ~  ~
 
9 thoughts on “Fall Snapshots: Wind Whispers

  1. Shari Green says:

    Depending on the stage of writing and/or my mood, I may need silence, quiet instrumental music of an appropriate mood, or headphones-on/volume-up WIP playlist. 🙂

    Here’s to all our tall trees staying right where they belong this winter! (Ack! Wait until you see what they’ve done to the Maple next door. Hack, hack, prune.)

    • Carol says:

      Oh, dear! I can’t imagine what’s happened to that Maple tree, but I hope the hacking and pruning were done so as to not just shorten its branches and create a lower dense tree, but also thin them to allow the wind to blow through.

  2. I’m like you. I don’t know how anyone can write in a coffee shop. I would be people-watching instead and get nothing done! I love to sit at Starbucks and watch everyone! I prefer silence so I can hear those voices in my head!! 🙂

    • Carol says:

      I know it’s a ‘to each his own’ kind of thing (note Shari and Meradeth’s comments) but any kind of noise is mind-cluttering for me when I’m trying to write.

  3. I love listening to Stephen Moccio. Check him out, Carol. I think you might love his piano renditions. They’re like music from heaven. I love the sound of pounding waves too. And the sound of the wind. A few nights before our son Jack passed he told his girlfriend he heard his name called on the wind. I think there is something very powerful about that. Over the years it has brought me much comfort.

  4. I’m one of those people who likes a coffee shop 🙂 The noise does indeed drop into the background, and somehow it helps me focus. And if I need a break, there’s always something good to eat or drink, and some people to watch!

    • Carol says:

      I’m afraid I’d be tempted to eat, drink and watch far more than write, but I know the environment works for some. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment, Meradeth.

I'd love to hear from you!

