Inspiration in Unlikely Places

.

An idea eludes my pen… skips sullenly into shadowy places where I cannot go, and refuses to be teased back into the light.  Some days it’s like that. I sigh, resigned, and move on to hunt down a fresh one.

In the newness of my exploration I bemoan the continued barrenness. Where to go from here? Eyes closed, mind emptied, I search among the rough, undefined thoughts, until in the most unlikely of places, a tiny idea blooms.

Wild Strawberry

How it arrived and survived without nourishment or nurture is a mystery but I focus on it with thanksgiving, and begin writing again.

Sometimes we look in the wrong places for inspiration. Do you always find your ideas in emotionally rich surroundings? Or do they also reveal themselves in bleak landscapes?

~

9 thoughts on “Inspiration in Unlikely Places

  1. lauradroege says:

    Definitely in bleak landscapes, at least when I can train my mind to pay attention and not be on autopilot as I go about my daily business.

  2. carla says:

    Same here when I saw what looked like a weed growing in the from a small tiny bit of dirt and the cement, It was lamb’s ear and it was tall and flourishing and I learned how it is a weed that can heal! Great writing , Carol!! thank you , carla

  3. Wow. I love this analogy you drew, Carol, and in such an exquisite way!

    I find inspiration in the most unlikely places and times. Some of my best humor articles started out as rants to my husband about stupid little things. When I write about them, their power over me is diffused!

    Thanks again for your excellent advise on my pitch; I so appreciate your help!

    Bless you,
    Jen

  4. My inspiration usually comes from a bleak landscape, all right. It’s called ‘my mind’ when I’m lying in bed at night feigning sleep. It runs wild like monsters you can’t see in the darkness. Ha..ha..

  5. joylene says:

    Had to think for a moment, then realized my ideas come from injustices. I see or hear of something on the news and see the shame in it. That prompts a storyline. Or I’ll witness bad behavior.

    Interesting. Thanks for the question, Carol. You just taught me something new.

  6. I’m not doing a good job of keeping up with reading everyone’s blog posts today, but I’m loving your comments here. Thanks for chiming in and sharing your sources of inspiration.

  7. Katt says:

    A bleak landscape, driving through heavy traffic, in the shower! Oh my—usually during a time when it’s impossible to write anything down. When I sit before the keyboard, willing a thought to pop out and take on a life of it’s own–I think I hear laughter!
    Great post!

  8. karen evans says:

    Oh, Carol, the way my mind works the ideas come in swirls and sometimes empty into black holes. But then sometimes they flow normally.

  9. Inspiration may spark from embers gray with ashes or bloom from underbrush where nothing beautiful should sprout. When such unlikely things develop, my mind fills with merriment. It’s time to let the words spill out.

    The wild strawberry is lovely! Blessings to you, Carol…

I'd love to hear from you!

