A sunny Monday morning reminiscence…

BlogBlank

Apparently thirty-one consecutive days of sunshine isn’t even record-setting here, but this is July and that still makes it pretty remarkable in my books. For most of the years when our children were young we took the month of July as our vacation time… and it usually rained at least half of it!

Now that our family is grown, and hubby and I are on our own, it doesn’t really matter what the weather does during holidays. If it rains, a stack of good books and a deck of cards will keep us occupied and content. My hubby thinks I’m daft, but I even like walking in the rain.

Admittedly, it’s hard to keep the camera dry in the rain, and I really don’t like to go anywhere without it. So I’ve been appreciating this recent sunny streak.

Shadows 1

I don’t appreciate the heat, though. When the sun is at its brightest and hottest, you’ll find me in the shade. There’s always shade somewhere in our yard. In the early morning it’s out in the back; afternoons, it’s in the front. Mid-day our forest path is the place to be.

Shadows 2

Whenever I think of shadows, the words of a couple old hymns, “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” and “Through All the Changing Scenes of Life“, come to mind:

Great is thy faithfulness, O God my father,
There is no shadow of turning with thee’
Thou changest not, thy compassions they fail not
As thou has been thou forever wilt be.

~

Through all the changing scenes of life,
In trouble and in joy,
The praises of my God shall still
My heart and tongue employ.

No writing application comes to mind from all this mental meandering, but something else very much worth remembering — in both the sunshine and shadowy times of our lives, God is always with us, and that thought brings me joy.

Maybe that’s all I was meant to write about today. I hope so, because that’s all I have.

~

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.”

Psalm 91:1

~

“The Lord is your keeper;
the Lord is your shade on your right hand.”

Psalm 121:5

~  ~  ~

Published by Carol

A freelance writer of fiction and non-fiction living on the West Coast of Canada.

3 thoughts on “A sunny Monday morning reminiscence…

  1. Sign me up for that gorgeous, green place! I bet it’s not nearly as humid as Florida, either!

    Also, thank you so much for your excellent advice on my blog. I’m going to pay it forward by reposted everyone’s advice in a new post later this afternoon! 🙂

    1. I can imagine the humidity in Florida can get pretty oppressive! We do get a fair amount here on the coast compared to more inland areas, but it’s not too bad. I just don’t do any kind of heat very well.

      I’ll have to check in at your blog again to see what other suggestions people came up with. That’s one of the things I like about the writing community… everyone is so supportive and helpful.

I'd love to hear from you!