NaNoWriMo – Let’s GO!!!

This is it!  This is my time to…..

CreateTotem

And now that I’m racing against the word clock you may not see as much of me over the next thirty days. That might not be a bad thing. I imagine you’re getting pretty tired of hearing about NaNoWriMo if you don’t happen to be a participant.

.

This NaNo’ing endeavour doesn’t garner much respect from serious writers. It has frivolous overtones. They wonder why an aspiring novelist willingly wastes time accumulating 50,000 words of questionable value. But I have no desire to waste these thirty days. While the writing is undoubtedly mediocre quality, it has purpose. Committing to this very visible project is my way of shoving reluctant thoughts and words out of the wings and onto a stage whether or not they want to be there. It’s an extensive “free writing” exercise that I believe will enhance my creativity and self-expression.  At the end of November I hope to have completed the bare bones rough draft of a novel that has been shackled inside me for the past six months. I’m heading off now to see if it can be done.

.

Coming up next: an interview with Canadian author Laura Best whose debut YA novel BITTER, SWEET was recently launched in Nova Scotia.

.

I'd love to hear from you!

