Giraffe Cam Addiction

I know, I know … you think I’ve abandoned this blog. Well, I haven’t. Admittedly, I’ve been distracted lately. Ever since discovering the live web cam at Harpursville, NY’s Animal Adventure Park, I keep checking their pregnant giraffe, April, in every spare moment.

I think giraffes are remarkable creatures; baby giraffes are particularly adorable. When our children were growing up they had a collection of bendable animal toys, including the ever-popular Gumby and Pokey. All of them were small enough to constantly get misplaced and one by one they disappeared. All except the giraffe. For some reason it outlasted them all. In fact, it was still around to be sold in a garage sale long after our kids were grown up and had moved away.

I’m not a huge fan of wild animals in captivity except where the focus is on preservation and education, which is the case at A.A.L. Right now a lot of people are being educated in all matters pertaining to giraffes.

Giraffe’s have a fifteen-month gestation, and April’s due date was considered to be “sometime in January or February”. Day by passing day an increasing number of viewers from all around the world (254,029 subscribers at last count, but millions are tuning in. It’s become a global phenomenon. ) have been watching for the arrival of the new calf. It’s like watching paint dry! We keep staring at her, but nothing seems to change.

Hello

“Hello! Are you watching me?”

April’s mate, Oliver, is a young and feisty bull, but April is more mature at fifteen, and is gentle and sweet-natured. Everyone loves her. We’ll love her calf, too … When. It. Finally. Arrives! In the meantime, I’m not getting much done. A little writing. A little reading. Lots of complaining about our weather.

But tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day. I’m going to bake a loaf of Irish Soda Bread. Oh … wouldn’t it be the perfect day for the calf to arrive? The adventure park staff are going to have a naming contest for it. If it came today, Stormy would suit it since Harpursville is in the midst of a nasty snowstorm, but if it arrives tomorrow, Paddy would be perfect. I’m Irish. I’m hoping for tomorrow.

(I’ll edit this to add a note and screen shot when the new little one arrives.)

~  ~  ~

I'd love to hear from you!

