A Non-review and Giveaway: ROOT BEER CANDY AND OTHER MIRACLES

I don’t often review books because I don’t feel comfortable passing judgment, negative or positive, on someone else’s writing. When I do recommend a book, it’s because I’m particularly enthusiastic about it.

rootbeercandyandothermiracles_websiteI’m enthusiastic about ROOT BEER CANDY AND OTHER MIRACLES, but you’re likely to think I’m biased because the author is my daughter, Shari Green, and that’s not true at all. Despite it being aimed at a middle-grade audience, I’ve read it twice and am likely to read it again. It’s that good. But since you probably still think I’m biased, I’ll just let you read other people’s reviews instead of reviewing it myself…

CM Magazine: “…a light-hearted yet evocative page-turner … Green’s writing is captivatingly visual, with seamless inclusions of figurative language … versatile as independent reading or as an engaging read-aloud.” 

School Library Journal: “Recommend this lovely and poignant novel to middle grade readers who enjoy coming-of-age stories.”

Canadian Children’s Book News: “Writing in verse, Green aptly captures the journey of a girl faced with her first real heartbreak—the likely dissolution of her family. Bailey’s openness to confronting her reality while still believing in the extraordinary adds to her charm, as does her growing realization that heartache affects many others in her life as well.”

 ROOT BEER CANDY AND OTHER MIRACLES is a verse novel but it’s not your typical metered and rhyming children’s book. You don’t think “poetry” as you read, only that the story streams vividly onto the pages, taking you into the Felicity Bay community where Bailey is spending a rather stressful summer.

It will come to pass
that a stranger from the sea
will change
everything.”

“The locals in Felicity Bay shake their heads at the ice cream man’s prophecy. “Crazy old Jasper,” they say. But Bailey isn’t so sure. She’s found something special down at the beach: a driftwood mermaid, a gift washed up from a storm. Could she be the stranger from the sea who has come to change everything? Bailey hopes so. Because this summer, she sure could use a miracle.”

hi-res-dPublished this fall by Pajama Press, RBCAOM is just the most recent of Shari’s successes. In 2010 she won first place in the Writing for YA category of the Surrey International Writers’ contest with her short story, IN LIEU OF A WARDROBE. After that she took some time to work on full length pieces and in October 2014 her YA novel FOLLOWING CHELSEA was published by Evernight Teen. In April 2015 Vine Leaves Press released FALLING FOR ALICE, a collection of five short stories by Shari and four other YA authors in celebration of the 150th anniversary of ALICE IN WONDERLAND.

Since then she’s had a very busy year.

  • September 2015 – TAKE ME TO THE SEA: an ocean-themed colouring book was published.
  • October 2015 – SANDBAGGING, a short story, won Honourable Mention in the SiWC writing contest.
  • January 2016 – CREATIVITEA: another colouring book was published, this one for tea lovers.
  • August 2016 – DOODLE SOUP: a “bit-of-everything” colouring collection was released.
  • October 12, 2016 – ROOT BEER CANDY AND OTHER MIRACLES, her verse novel, was published by Pajama Press.

And, coming up next spring…

dsc00373None of this sounds like bragging, does it? No, of course not, but I admit to being thrilled for all her accomplishments, not the least of which was last month’s Special Achievement Award presented to Shari by the Surrey Board of Trade at the Surrey International Writers’ Conference.

If you’d like to know more about Shari, you could head for her blog or check out her Bio here.

This brings me to the giveaway (for Canada and the USA only, please). If you would like to have your name put into the puppy bowl (it’ll be clean; I promise!) for the chance to win a paperback copy of ROOT BEER CANDY AND OTHER MIRACLES, all you have to do is leave a comment below. I’ll be drawing the winner’s name at the end of day next Thursday, November 24th (Thanksgiving Day in the USA!), and announcing it here on the blog on Friday the 25th (just one month before Christmas!)  🙂

~  ~  ~

12 thoughts on “A Non-review and Giveaway: ROOT BEER CANDY AND OTHER MIRACLES

  1. Laura Best says:

    Carol, you have every right to be proud of Shari and her book! It’s wonderful. A verse novel is a different experience, but I’ve read a few and enjoyed them all. Maybe one day I’ll try my hand at writing one.

  2. Cathy Graham says:

    Shari’s book sounds wonderful. Verse novels do seem to be popular these days. I would love to read this one. Good for her with all her accomplishments. You should be a proud mom! I would be, too, if it were me!

  3. Congratulations to Shari. And to you, Carol, for raising such a beautiful, talented, and kind daughter. To write for children is a noble profession in every sense of the way. I’m thrilled for her and for you. I can imagine how proud you are. Makes your heart swell, I bet.

    • Carol says:

      It does indeed, Joylene. But I’m also a little in awe of how she handles words. She’s a much better writer than I’ll ever be!

  4. Marisa says:

    I already bought a copy for my niece but I’d love a chance to win my own copy! Lol!! Marisa Wiens 😀 ❤

  5. Libby Westergaard says:

    This would be an awesome gift for my 13yr old daughter Rachel who loves to read. We now live in Kimberley but lived in Campbell River for a short time and went to the Presbyterian church where John and Shari minister. What a lovely connection for Rachel.

    • Carol says:

      Isn’t strange how these ‘connections’ develop? Your time in Campbell River will have made you familiar with the ocean that plays such a big part in Bailey’s story. (And you don’t live too far from the author’s sister now.) 🙂

  6. C.B. Dixon says:

    I loved her book Following Chelsea! And, our coffee dates we have on occasion!
    I would love to have my name put in the puppy bowl! Please 😊

Comments are closed.