Putting My Imagination to Work

In one of my posts back in 2009 I made a comment about imagination…

“Imagination is a fascinating phenomenon. With it the writer’s mind creates people who don’t exist, places that have never been, events that didn’t happen, and somehow combines them to create a world that readers accept as real.”

Such imagination can be found in more than fiction.

During Spring Break I accompanied my DIL and granddaughter to a local nursery. Their goal was to find a few plants and accessories to make a Fairy Garden.

IMG_3300

No, this isn’t her garden; it’s mine!

This is where I admit to a love of little woodland hideaways and secret places. Stories like The Secret Garden and Alice in Wonderland that feature wild, abandoned gardens or hidden worlds accessed via a rabbit hole still fascinate me as an adult.

I’ve coveted every fairy garden I’ve ever seen, and yet never taken the initiative to create one for myself. I’m not sure what prompted me, but last week, after acquiring a few leftover plants from my granddaughter’s, I set out to make one, too.

IMG_3303

The one resident fairy is probably lonely as she basks in the shade of her miniature gypsy-style wagon, but the garden’s not finished yet. And once it is, I have another project along similar lines, although that one may require some assistance from my hubby. There are a couple stumps in our woodsy acreage, and ever since seeing the video about “The Gnomist”, I’ve been wanting to add a little door or two … access to a tiny new Gnome’s ghome in my woodland garden. 🙂

It’s all just my goofy imagination at work, but at my age I figure people will forgive my lapse into early senility. After all, we never really outgrow the need to indulge in a bit of whimsy, do we?

If you’ve never seen “The Gnomist” you might enjoy taking a few minutes to view it now. The story behind it is very special. (A Kleenex or two would be wise. Be forewarned.)

~

Are you tempted to add a little whimsy to your life now, too?

~  ~  ~

9 thoughts on “Putting My Imagination to Work

  1. Jenn Hubbard says:

    We could all use more whimsy, I think!

  2. Darlene says:

    I love your fairy garden. What a wonderful activity. Imagination is everything!!

  3. You have the best ever fairy garden. Waiting for warmer weather to put her outside? Or do you fear she may become inhabited if you put her outside?

    • Carol says:

      “Inhabited?” Hmmm, could she become demon-possessed if I don’t keep her indoors? Or will the bugs invade? I don’t know. With the exception of the moss and ferns, most are hot house plants, but I hope to transfer it out onto the patio table anyway, once summertime arrives.

  4. pastordt says:

    CAROL!! This is nothing short of astonishing. I love your fairy garden and I want to know more about whatever you do coming out of that gorgeous small film – thanks so much for the privilege of seeing it here. I will share on FB and send others to catch the whimsy, the glorious whimsy.

I'd love to hear from you!

