Starting another new month, and NaNoWriMo

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

There’s nothing realistic about the premise of National Novel Writing Month, i.e., that “the world needs your novel”. No, it doesn’t. It isn’t likely to need the 50,000 words that will spew uncontrolled from the chaos of my less-than-organized mind.

But I need them, and I need NaNoWriMo. I need the discipline to force those words out of my head, onto a page, into a manuscript where they can then be rearranged and revised into something resembling the story I’ve been imagining.

So now that November is here, I’m once again committed to participating in NaNoWriMo for a month of BICHOK (the acronym for Butt In Chair, Hands On Keyboard). My name on the NaNo website is Wildwood Gal, if you’re looking for a buddy. I may cheat during this first week because I have a completed manuscript that requires another read-through and minor revisions before I’ll be ready to start something new; but you can be sure I’ll be working on words every day, all month.

What’s your project during this new month? If you’re writing, are you taking part in NaNoWriMo, or do you have a personal goal? 

~  ~  ~

4 thoughts on “Starting another new month, and NaNoWriMo

  1. Shari Green says:

    I’m revising this month — my November goal is to finish this round of revisions on my current YA project.

    Happy wording! 😀

  2. I can understand why, I just can’t put myself out there like that. My obstacle is the fear of failure, I think.

    • Carol says:

      About once a year is all I query and I think fear of failure is probably what’s behind my reluctance. I’d much rather keep writing than admit that rejections might be because my writing isn’t good enough. ::sigh::

I'd love to hear from you!

