I have miles to go…

Miles-2

(Consider clicking on photos for a larger view.)

In round numbers, we drove about 500 miles on a weekend in mid-July, then 600 more on a round trip to our Cariboo cabin in early August, and another 1000 to the Kootenays and back in the past couple weeks. I am always awestruck by the seemingly endless miles of wilderness in our province, and how long it takes to get anywhere.

Miles-1

Although he was speaking of a winter landscape, Robert Frost said it well:

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,   
But I have promises to keep,   
And miles to go before I sleep, 
And miles to go before I sleep.
.
It takes time and effort to travel any major distance, whether it’s a journey by car or by pen. Wherever we’re going, we must stay the course or we’ll never reach our destination.
.
A novel of 90,000 words may take one writer only a few weeks, and another, several years. The speed doesn’t matter as much as the consistency of effort. (There’s a lesson for all of us in the story of the tortoise and the hare.)
.
As mentioned in my previous post, I abandoned the journey on a short story this month, not so much because I wasn’t enjoying the writing, but more because the effort lacked purpose. Not to say I won’t ever finish the story. One day I might, but I’ll need a better reason than to meet the deadline for a contest of dubious value to me.
.
I want to feel passion for a story — a yearning to record and share its characters and their message. I want to immerse myself in the creation of words that will transport me into and through their world. A novel-in-progress is beckoning me to put aside less challenging distractions and get back to work.
.
A journey awaits.
~
I’m curious. What motivates you to write?
Miles-3
~  ~  ~
One thought on “I have miles to go…

  1. Darlene says:

    Thanks for the wonderful pictures of beautiful BC. You have travelled much of it this summer. I have often decided not to pursue a contest in order to finish a book. Deadlines can motivate me but if they are tight, I get too stressed. Right now I have to finish my fifth Amanda book by October in order for it to be published in 2016. So it has been nose to the grindstone but it is coming along. Fortunately, I have few distractions right now. Best of luck with your novel.

I'd love to hear from you!

