So much promise…

My first peony of the season opened on Sunday. I’ve been keeping an eye on the buds as they show colour and swell with promise, but this one appeared while I wasn’t paying attention.

DSC05388

The clematis are showing promise, too, but none of the buds have opened quite yet. (The banner photo is from last year.)

DSC05400

DSC05398

So much promise! I love seeing all the spring newness as it happens. It’s hard to believe that in just two weeks — on Father’s Day — spring will be replaced by summer.

We’re already into a 30+ celsius week here, and the annuals that have burst into bloom in my baskets are dipping their heads against the oppressive brilliance and begging for extra drinks. It’s taking them a while to get accustomed to the sudden heat. (It’s taking me a while, too! I am SO not a lover of hot weather, but it sure gets those buds into bloom quickly.)

Seeing all the buds makes me think of ideas — those tight little word capsules that show up in a writer’s mind and tantalize with all their promise of what might be coming. It doesn’t help to be impatient when they’re slow to blossom into a potential story. It doesn’t help to focus on them, willing them into reality. Like a watched clock, they aren’t going to move ahead any faster for all our extra attention.

All the potential will surprise us, as the peony did, by simply showing up when the time is right, probably when we least expect it. At least, that’s been my experience.

How do your new ideas develop?

~  ~  ~

6 thoughts on “So much promise…

  1. Judith Robl says:

    One idea seems to lead to another. They pop up like dandelions in an otherwise well-manicured lawn. The trick is to make them bloom in well regulated beds and on trellises. Haven’t mastered that one yet, but I’m working on it.

  2. I had a clematis once. It never bloomed–until I pruned it. I may need to prune my ideas. 🙂

    • Carol says:

      I haven’t pruned any of my clematis other than trimming away occasional dead parts. I’ve never known which of the three kinds I have here. I’m not sure what that all says about how I should treat my ideas! LOL.

  3. pastordt says:

    Lovely thoughts, lovely photos. Right now, ideas are pretty much non-existent! I’m too exhausted most of the time! Packing and sorting/sifting through way too much stuff will do that to a person.

    • Carol says:

      I think, with all you have on your plate at present, it’s logical that ideas and writing aren’t a priority. Your health and the move have to be taking mainstage!

I'd love to hear from you!

