Late Night Thoughts: Sights and Sounds

If you’re anything like me, too often you go through a day seeing the obvious but missing the gems. Sometimes we focus on what’s right in front of us, and see nothing else.

Glimmers-6 copy

Other times, if we look beyond the obvious, we discover glimpses that beg to be investigated.

Glimmers-1 copy

Little glimmers,
hidden bits of truth and beauty,
sometimes visible,
sometimes only heard.

Beyond the bank of trees that border our back garden is a marsh. At one time it was a pond, officially named on municipal maps. In recent years there has been less water, but a stream still flows through and contributes habitat for geese, ducks, and assorted other wildlife.

Glimmers-7 copy

Where earth shimmers
In garish greens,
Liquid and leafy
Reflections of a secret life
Lived marsh deep.

Where night blackens
Sights but not sounds
And coyotes and tree frogs
Compete
In discordant harmony.

(To hear our late night marsh activity you’ll need your sound on.)

In both your life and your writing, I challenge you to look beyond the obvious, look into the depths, and discover meaningful capsules in the world that comprises your everyday.

What one thing have you discovered today that you consider worthy of recording and remembering?

~

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for,
the evidence of things not seen.

[Hebrews 11:1]

~  ~  ~

7 thoughts on “Late Night Thoughts: Sights and Sounds

  1. Darlene says:

    So true. We often miss the obvious. You live in a very picturesque area. Now that I no longer live on the west coast of Canada I miss so much I took for granted.

    • Carol says:

      In all the places we’ve lived, we took many sights and situations for granted until after we’d moved away. The Calgary Stampede was one I always wondered how we had overlooked.

      • Darlene says:

        I guess that is the way of things. We lived in Calgary for 6 years and didn´t attend the Calgary Stampede once. I wrote about it in my Amanda in Alberta book so had to do some research and ask people who had attended.

  2. Shari Green says:

    I love this, and totally agree about opening our eyes (and ears) to the treasures hidden in plain view — the miraculous in the mundane, the extraordinary in the ordinary. How rich our days are when we’ve simply noticed things. 🙂

    • Carol says:

      There is so much of the extraordinary that is hidden away within the ordinary! My camera has shown me things I hadn’t previously seen.

  3. I played this yesterday and my male cat immediately jumped up and stared at the monitor. Then he stared out the window. Then he looked at me as if to say, “That dog’s not in the house, right?” I love looking at the world through my cats.

I'd love to hear from you!

