1,000 and still counting!

1000PostsWordPress tells me this is my 1,000th post. There are times when I wonder what you expect to find here when you visit, and whether you leave satisfied or disappointed. The truth is, when I write, I rarely worry about what readers want. Words spill out of my brain and spatter onto the page. If something is produced that appeals, that’s a good thing. If it falls flat, like a stone into a mud puddle, that’s okay, too. At least the words are out of my head and I’m free to move on to explore other ideas. You aren’t obliged to stick around either. But after Monday’s post, I’ve continued to think about my online identity and my purpose here. I never promised to produce brilliant treaties on meaningful topics. My mental meanderings on life and writing really do wander all over the place, and quite honestly, I’m not sure why you’d want to read any of them. Yet, since the summer of 2008 and after nearly eighty-two months in this space, you’re still turning up here, and so am I! It’s a comfortable place for me — a little like my family room, where I can curl up on the couch in front of the fireplace with the afghan and journal on my lap, and share anything that pops into my mind. The trouble is, some days not a lot of popping happens. On those occasions I clip my pen to the edge of the page, reach for my mug of coffee (sometimes it’s chai tea or a Diet Coke), lean back into the cushions and let the flames mesmerize me. IMGP6757_2 There isn’t always a story to be told … at least, not a specific one. Not one of significance or with an analogy and application. Sometimes there is, but not always. Today is one of those days. Today I’m simply celebrating one thousand posts and you. Thank you for being here and sharing this milestone with me.  You make it all worthwhile.

~

To mark the occasion and also help express my thanks, I’m giving away a $20 Amazon or Starbucks gift certificate (your choice). I’ll draw a name at random from among those of you who leave a comment here between now and midnight Sunday (11:59 p.m. April 19th). I know not all of you who stop by here like to leave comments, but it’s the only fair way I can think of to choose someone. Check Monday’s post for announcement of the winner.

~

“… I thank my God through Jesus Christ for you.” [Romans 1:8]

~  ~  ~

17 thoughts on “1,000 and still counting!

  1. Congratulations on your 1000th post Carol! 🙂
    That’s quite an achievement!
    Here’s wishing for many, many more!!
    (Just wanted to wish you, since I don’t live in the US, the gift card probably won’t work! :))

  2. S. Etole says:

    Celebrating with you. I always enjoy my visits here.

  3. catchats says:

    Congratulations on your 100th post, Carol! That’s wonderful. I always enjoy your posts with their warmth, humour and interesting observations about writing and your life. Keep em coming! Here’s to the next 1000!

  4. I guess your daughter can’t enter to win, but I had to say congratulations! You are an amazing blessing. 🙂

  5. christicorbett says:

    Congratulations on reaching such an impressive milestone! Keep up the good work!

  6. Helga Bolleter says:

    Congrats, Carol! And thank you for all the great posts. I have learned much from you over the years.

  7. Darlene says:

    I enjoy reading your blogs. Always have, but now it is also a piece of home. Although I am enjoying my life in Spain I miss Canada, especially the west coast. So thanks for keeping me in touch.

  8. Carol says:

    Thanks to all of you for your kind comments. You’re the reason I get such pleasure from spending time here. 🙂

  9. joylene says:

    I love that you’re still here posting your thoughts. Your words comfort and sometimes mesmerize me. I feel comforted, lulled, quiet, and peaceful. I’m sitting with a dear friend and everything is good in my life. That’s what I feel when I read your posts. Congratulations on 1000 posts. That is a remarkable and awesome accomplishment.

  10. Jenn Hubbard says:

    Happy kilopost!

  11. I always enjoy your posts and meanderings.!! I have them saved so I can go back and re read them too. Thanks for always sharing your thoughts and happenings and photos too. Congratulations !!!! Carla

  12. Shari Green says:

    Wow, this is quite a milestone! Congrats! And thank you for your many inspiring thoughts and beautiful photos. 🙂

    (Another daughter NOT entering the giveaway, lol.)

  13. Carol says:

    “Kilopost” … I quite like that, Jenn! 😀 And Joylene, you’ve identified what I hope others also find here — that it’s a comfortable place to interact.

  14. Hi Carol – Congratulations on your 1,000th post! I enjoy stopping by here and hanging out with you for a bit of inspiration, wonderful pictures, and conversation. God bless, Susan 🙂

    I’d love to win an Amazon gift card. susanjreinhardt AT gmail DOT com

  15. Carol says:

    Thanks, Susan. I’ll put your name in the proverbial hat … or as Ruthy would say, in the cat dish. 😉

  16. Carol, I just want to congratulate you on 1000 posts. What a landmark accomplishment! I’m not quite halfway there, but close, and I was thinking 500 would be a bit of a big deal for me. 🙂 Keep up your great writing.

    • Carol says:

      Lynn, 500 *is* a big deal; I thought it was when I reached it, too. Whatever the number, achieving these milestones is an indication we’ve made a commitment and stuck to it. (I tell myself it’s building good habits I’ll need if/when I’m contracted. LOL.)

I'd love to hear from you!

