Fall Snapshots: Decline or Dormancy?

As the days of autumn slip and slither along a rainy path, my hope for vivid fall colours continues to wane. There is undeniable beauty in the woods and gardens but it doesn’t leap out and capture my attention as it did last year. The Vine Maples are a good example. The photo in my blog header was taken last fall. The one below is the same shrub, but photographed today.

Vine Maple 2014

We have a number of Hydrangeas around the property. One is a Climbing Hydrangea that clambers up and over the arbour that leads to our marsh trail. In the late spring and summer it sports large white ‘lacecap’ blossoms. Once the blossoms are done, it’s just a nice green cover for the trellis… until fall.

HydrangeaClimber1

In the fall it turns a bright yellow. Today, although the leaves are dropping, it’s still a vivid gold that, even in the rain, adds a sunny glow amid the evergreens in that corner of the yard.

HydrangeaClimbing3

We have other Hydrangeas in the gardens, too… the bush type with ‘mophead’ blooms. Most are pink, but as the season transitions, so does their colour. The individual petals are curling and they’ll be brown by winter, I’ll leave them in place. The birds seem to enjoy them.

Hydrangea1

Hydrangea3

Fall Blossoms

Just as I mentioned on Monday, it would be easy to moan about what was instead of celebrating what is. In the garden, however, the steady deterioration has a purpose. It’s part of the cycle of life — going to seed, resting, waiting for the new season of re-energizing and production.

Today’s blog post was delayed because I spent time at a NaNoWriMo write-in. Some of the other participants were comparing their word counts and feeling embarrassed that they were so low. But everyone admitted to having written something, and I was able to remind them that those words were more than they’d had when they arrived. Those words were motivation for what could come next. Tomorrow will be a fresh start… a time to move on and begin building again on what was achieved in the past.

Sometimes we celebrate the present achievement; sometimes it’s necessary to resign ourselves to some dormancy. Use the time to look ahead and maybe plan the next landscape. There are NaNo-ing days when I wonder why I’m bothering to participate in this literary marathon if my output isn’t going to be more significant. Then I remember that these waning times, even dormant times, are often necessary for future creativity. There is a cyclic nature to all of life… even to our writing. Tomorrow will be a better day!

How’s your writing going this week… or whatever other project you might have ‘on the go’? 

~  ~  ~

5 thoughts on “Fall Snapshots: Decline or Dormancy?

  1. Shari Green says:

    I’ve definitely found there to be a cyclic nature to creativity, and recognizing that went a long way toward accepting the dormant times. (I’d like to say I’m always happy going with the flow, but… haha. Sometimes is better than no-times!)

  2. Joylene says:

    I’ve been letting no internet connection get me down. I’m sitting in the noisy bar here at Los arroyos because it has the best signal. I won’t bore you, except to add your post has lifted me up. Thanks, Carol!

  3. Judith Robl says:

    Participating in NaNo this year was a last minute decision. I knew I’d lose five writing days at the first of the month. I lost six. But I planned for it by setting a different daily goal. What I didn’t accommodate was the sheer exhaustion that set in after this lost week. Thank you for giving me permission to recuperate before plunging ahead.

  4. I’m in editing mode with my fourth book – not my favorite thing. While my fingers and mind itch to start another book, I know this phase is necessary before launching this novel. I stay far away from NaNo! This season is too busy for me.

  5. Carol says:

    My apologies for not responding to your comments last weekend. I hope my readers know how much I appreciate them and the time they take to stop here and check out my posts, even if I don’t always say so. I had a lacklustre weekend fighting a bug and spent most of my time reading rather than computing.

I'd love to hear from you!

