Fall Snapshots: Changes

The meteorologist revealed the delightful news yesterday that our October had twenty-two days of rain. Not steady rain, of course, but days that received a measurable amount, along with warmer than average temperatures. Maybe that’s why the usual autumn colour hasn’t materialized around here. Usually by now the garden has shots of scarlet, orange and gold, but this year the changes are more subtle. It would be easy to overlook the beauty.

Fall Travel

(Consider clicking on the photos if you’d like a closer look.)

Fall leaves

My two day NaNoWriMo word total is 2,852… a couple pages short of the desired daily average. Some years I start out gung ho the first few days and rack up great numbers. Not so this year. I’m like the tortoise, slow and plodding. It would be easy to overlook the accomplishment and bemoan those 2,852 words instead of celebrate them.

It’s time to jump up and down, wave my arms and shout, “Yay!!! 2,852 great new words!” Then again, I don’t know how great they are. NaNoWriMo words tend to need a lot of later revision, but at least they’re new words. I’m smiling.

What accomplishment, large or small, makes you smile today?

~  ~  ~

2 thoughts on “Fall Snapshots: Changes

  1. Judith Robl says:

    This may be day three, but when day two is Sunday, it really doesn’t count as a writing day for some of us. I figured I’d probably miss at least five days of writing during the month. That pushes my writing day average goal to 2,000 words each writing day, or 12,000 words per week. I’ll not despair til it’s week three and I’ve only got 12,000 words done.

    Hooray for you! I’m proud of your words.

  2. elderfox says:

    Cograts dear friend…Maybe this is your time! Go for it! I’m trying to get back on my blog and also to find NaNo ?

I'd love to hear from you!

