The countdown has started

When there is only one day left, one last opportunity to finalize details and get myself ready for a major event, I usually panic! I can be heard muttering, “I don’t want to do this! Why did I ever say I would?”

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

 

I think there’s a quotation somewhere about a character riding off in several directions at once. It’s impossible, you say? Well, let me tell you about fragmenting. When enough pressure builds up, you can expect the container to explode, forcing its fragments to be flung in multiple directions. That is SO what I feel like.

This is NaNoWriMo Eve! Ackkk!

I mentioned NaNoWriMo in last Friday’s post. I presented my lecture at the library that evening and made mention of how this final week should be used for preparations. Did I follow my own advice? Of course not! And now, when Halloween shenanigans wind down at midnight tonight and NaNoWriMo gets underway, I’ll be scrambling. ::sigh:: This is my eighth year; how is it that I end up doing this every time?

Remind me next October that panic attacks aren’t pleasant and I should try to avoid them at all costs.

Are you taking part in NaNoWriMo this year? Are you prepared and ready to dive in? (If the second answer is ‘yes’, I don’t want to hear it!)

(I’m NaNoWriMo’s Wildwood Gal,
the one with the glazed expression.
)

~  ~  ~

7 thoughts on “The countdown has started

  1. “I don’t want to do this! Why did I ever say I would?” Loved this!! I am totally saying this too!! Best of luck! 🙂

  2. Shari Green says:

    Probably taking part, not at all prepared. I’ve got eight hours still, though…no rush. *laughs maniacally* *runs madly off in all directions*

    • Carol says:

      LOL! I keep reminding myself that whether I ‘win’ or not, any new words will be better than what I might otherwise accomplish without the month-long intense focus.

  3. Judith Robl says:

    Well, I waffled about until the very last minute. I’ve had a novel buzzing in my head for years – have about 2500 words written on it. So I decided that I’d work on that novel (excluding the 2500 words already written). Yesterday was the first day – and I did just over 2000 words. Took me off on an entirely different tangent. Now to make time this Sunday for writing… I’ll look for wildwood girl on NaNo.

    • Carol says:

      Welcome aboard, Judith! A number of published authors use NaNoWriMo to get a first draft done quickly. I hope it works for you, too. As for the tangent… sometimes tangents make the storytelling journey better, sometimes they have to be reined in and redirected, but it’s always an interesting process. Happy writing!

I'd love to hear from you!

