Summer’s Winding Down

Robins are supposed to be harbingers of springtime … that time when everything is becoming vibrant and new. This one is tattered, a little tired-looking and worn. Maybe that’s to be expected as we go into the last weekend of the summer.

Autumn Robin

I read on the Cornell Lab of Ornithology website that Robins can produce three broods each year. If that’s the case, I can understand why this one might be feeling a little frazzled and frayed. Parenting can be demanding! Then again, it’s said that although “the entire [robin] population turns over on average every six years,” the occasional one can live up to fourteen years, so perhaps this one is just showing his age.

All winter long we wait for summertime, and when it finally arrives we exult in relaxed schedules, vacations, and the opportunity to catch up on everything we didn’t have time for in the preceding months. We garden and travel, make time for afternoons on the beach and backyard barbecues. Then, all too soon, we see it …

Autumn Glimpse

… the unwelcome hint that it’s all coming to an end.

We’re already back into September routines and any vacation time we might have had is little more than a distant memory. I should feel refreshed after several weeks of cottage time and family visits, but in reality I’m a little breathless. The weeks zipped by like a roadrunner on caffeine. I enjoyed my activities, but I’m taking stock and discovering that a lot of what I hoped to accomplish during June, July and August didn’t happen. What became of all that extra time I expected to have?

Perhaps having a summer birthday and acknowledging the passing of yet another year in my life makes me more aware of time’s elusive nature. Like the Robin, I’m getting a little worn around the edges. It takes me longer to get things done — although that may be less to do with aging and more to do with stopping too often to appreciate the blaze of changing colours or breathe in late summer’s distinctive scent.

Yesterday was subdued … a mist drifted through the trees most of the day and mingled with a cool breeze. The alders have begun letting their leaves loose to flutter down and clutter the freshly mown lawn, and down at the marsh there’s a hint of gold. We’re approaching the last weekend of summer and I’m feeling a little melancholic about it.

~

“The whole earth is at rest and is quiet;
They break forth into shouts of joy.

[Isaiah 14:7]

~  ~  ~

 SS-BUTTON

5 thoughts on “Summer’s Winding Down

  1. Shari Green says:

    I get melancholy, too, realizing how quickly my beloved summer is slipping away. I love fall, too — fog and crisp afternoons and leaves turning colour — but man, that whole passage-of-time thing hits you in the heart some days.

  2. S. Etole says:

    Feeling this passing.

  3. elderfox says:

    Summer seemed too short this year…or maybe it was just my not getting any writing done…does “how to” re-reading count? We’ve also had workers re-facing the building, putting on new siding, balconies, and replacing utilities in kitchens. I’ve been in-n-out of Doctor offices, them trying to figure out if I’m ill…or body parts just getting old and beginning to sag and wear out. (: /) or could be, just being woke up daily with some worker hammering on the outside bedroom wall or Snuff telling us–in his best frantic bark– there are strangers outside trying to break in!
    …and that’s been most of our summer.
    Luv ya.
    mE&JJ

  4. We’re going back to Bucerias for the entire winter this year. I’m feeling very excited and very appreciative and blessed. So, as I work outside and attend to the end of summer chores, I swear I hear the birds singing playful songs of a time when they will soon leave and join me in my summery winter. She does look a bit frayed around the edges. Wonder if she’s just preparing her new feather coat for a milder climate?

  5. Carol says:

    It seems we’re all acutely aware of how quickly time has been passing this summer! I guess if I had a “summery winter” to anticipate, like Joylene, I’d be a little more enthusiastic about it. 😀

I'd love to hear from you!

