Too focused for my own good…

The homeward journey last week took us through a variety of terrain. After leaving Kamloops, BC the highway meandered upwards following Kamloops Lake to a lookout that we’d passed many times. This time we decided it was a good spot to stop for lunch. Before going inside the trailer, however, I wandered around with my camera, looking for a few interesting shots. The sky was mostly overcast so the colours weren’t great.

Kamloops Lake 1

But I kept trying…

Kamloops Lake 2

That’s the City of Kamloops in the haze at the end of the lake.

Kamloops Lake 3

I wandered closer to the bluff, trying for more colour in the foreground. There was a shapely old tree out there, too…

Kamloops Lake 4

By then it was time to grab something for lunch. While eating in the trailer I reviewed my photos, and discovered the best colour around was on a sign that had photobombed my last picture:

Kamloops Lake 5

How did I not see that???

Being totally focused on one thing can cause a person to overlook something else that might be more important! I have to wonder if that applies to one’s writing, too. When we set our mind firmly on publication and look in no other direction, perhaps we miss some of the opportunities that God has spread out in front of us — other ways to serve him with our written words.

I’m not suggesting we should give up on our dreams, but pursue them in consultation with the One who knows what our future holds.

Q4U:

  • Before you focused on gaining a specific goal, were there other related achievements that brought you satisfaction/fulfillment?

~

“When one door closes another door opens;
but we so often look so long and
so regretfully upon the closed door,

that we do not see the ones which open for us.”

(Alexander Graham Bell)

~

If any of you lacks wisdom,
let him ask God,
who gives generously to all without reproach,
and it will be given him.

James 1:5

~  ~  ~

.

6 thoughts on “Too focused for my own good…

  1. Shari Green says:

    Great analogy, Mom. And yikes! Rattlesnakes!

    • Carol says:

      It’s not like I don’t know there are rattlesnakes in the dry areas of BC’s Interior, but I guess it’s been a while since I’ve had an occasion to wander anywhere like this.

  2. “Grab a cup of coffee and come and join in the conversation.” That’s such an inviting introduction to your blog.

    The photos are lovely. The warning sign, by the time one is ready to focus on it, may serve, at least, to hasten one’s departure.

  3. pastordt says:

    Carol – for some reason, I’ve stopped receiving your blogposts in my inbox. Did you re-format in another host? I’ll try and find a subscription line here. . . I’ve been missing you!!

    • Carol says:

      Hi Diane. No, I don’t think there have been any site changes that should have affected your subscription, but there is a subscription option in the sidebar if you would like to try again. So sorry for the inconvenience! I always appreciate hearing from you.

I'd love to hear from you!

