Wednesday’s Words of Worship: Life Shadows

BlogBlank

DSC09991

Writers know a lot about insecurity, rejection, disappointment and discouragement, but I don’t suppose there is anyone whose life at some time hasn’t dipped into the shadows. The reassurance and confidence expressed in this hymn remind us of God’s promises. He said he would always be here for us even when shadows make it difficult for us to see him. We can depend on that. Great is his faithfulness!

 His compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is Thy faithfulness. 

Lamentations 3:22-23

DSC09992

~

How’s your week going? Some of you have been particularly on my mind, so this is just a bit of mid-week encouragement to keep you going until Sunday rolls around again. 🙂

Great Is thy Faithfulness
(Chisholm / Runyan – 1923)

~  ~  ~

6 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Words of Worship: Life Shadows

  1. Judith Robl says:

    One of my favorite hymns. One day I was on my way to visit my mother an hour’s drive away. Her younger brother had been murdered the week before and I was thinking about him and the hole this loss would leave in her life. Tears came and threatened to blind me. I was looking for a place to pull off the road before I had a wreck when the words of this hymn burst forth from the middle of my middle and dried my tears.

    “Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
    Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide,
    Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
    Blessings all mine with ten thousand beside.”

    • lauradroege says:

      Judith, your comment brought tears to my eyes. How beautiful that God used these words to comfort and guide you during such a difficult time. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. I love that hymn! My week is going okay with the exception of a stomach virus.

  3. territiffany says:

    Always we need encouragement. Except for the cold…and an aching back…my week is good. Hope yours is too.

  4. Carol says:

    It’s good to get your feedback! Thanks to each of you. Judith, isn’t it a blessing the way God plants the right words in our minds just when we need them most? Susan and Terri, I hope the stomach virus and aching back are both soon gone.

  5. Katt says:

    Just now saw this……how did it get to be Friday? Encouragement is what everybody needs, writers or readers!
    Thanks so much for yours (encouragement). My week has been fabulous. My hubby had a birthday on Monday, and I remember several years ago this month we didn’t feel much like celebrating his birthday. We had just learned he had prostate cancer. Today, he is cancer free and we are just happy!

I'd love to hear from you!

