The Old and the Older

This photo of our 1946 Willys Jeep CJ2A was posted here a couple years ago. We’ve had it since the late-1970s. Before we acquired it from a family friend in BC’s backwoods, it sat unused for years in an old log garage.

For years my husband and another friend tinkered with it. One semester it was driven to school by our son, who worked on it as a project in his Auto Tech class. Another year it was driven to the same school by our eldest daughter who used it in the same Auto Tech class to learn how to fix brakes and do other such jobs. Several of our grandchildren have used it to drive to their graduations, too. The Jeep has become something of a Family Treasure.

But nothing can quite equal the treasure that arrived in our driveway last Sunday evening. A blaring Klaxton horn drew us from the house, and we assumed our son had added the novelty noise-maker to his pickup truck. But no, when we went to investigate, we found it was an original horn attached to an old Ford Model A.

This wasn’t just any old Model A. It was our brother Murray’s, and until a few days before, had been stored in his garage in rural Ontario.

For the past eight years Murray worked nine months of the year teaching at YuShan Theological Seminary in Taiwan, and would come back to Canada each summer to his cottage in Ontario’s Muskokas. During the summer he enjoyed tinkering with the Model A and would occasionally drive it to church. But, as I mentioned in an earlier post, Murray died suddenly last January.

Sometime during this spring, unknown to us, arrangements were made with his family for my hubby to have the car. Last week, while we erroneously assumed our son was away on a business trip, he and our grandson borrowed a trailer and drove a round trip of 8,000 km in less than seven days to pick up the Model A and bring it to BC.

There are no words to express what this has meant to my husband, not just because of what the vehicle is — and as a 1930 Model A it is very special — but because of whose it was, and the love that brought it here. As one of Murray’s daughters said, “I’ve got some pretty amazing cousins.”

Amazing hardly covers it.

~

No writing analogy today, just a question. Have you ever received a gift that left you truly speechless?

~  ~  ~

13 thoughts on “The Old and the Older

  1. Judith Robl says:

    What a treasure! I mean the family – oh, and the car as well.

  2. Carol, this post leaves me speechless. Thank you so for sharing your family and the close ties that you have … with vintage autos and with each other 🙂

  3. Sharon O says:

    Yes my sister made me a hand made quilt and with a matching pillow made out of my grandmothers ‘chenille bedspread’. It was an awesome 50th birthday surprise.

  4. How wonderful for you and your husband yo have your brother’s special car. This is a feel good story.

  5. This whole thing is just so wonderful. I don’t think I realized it was actually now YOURS! I might need to come visit you just to ride in it. Our family goes way back with Ford.

  6. Carol says:

    Thanks for all your congratulatory comments! We haven’t come down from ‘cloud nine’ yet. As Sandra says, everything about this has been so wonderful.

  7. joylene says:

    This is such a wonderful story. I just told my husband. He gets it too. So nice, Carol.

    • Carol says:

      Thanks, Joylene. I guess the car part is a ‘guy thing’. I love that it was Murray’s, but already my guys are tinkering and checking out availability of parts. 🙂

  8. This is a fabulous story, Carol, and speaks volumes about your family’s love for one another. Thanks so much for sharing it!

  9. torimcrae says:

    Carol, you have the coolest posts. I love reading them. What a blessing the car & it’s means of delivery were. I’ve had two gifts that blew me away. The first was when I opened a small Christmas package from my parents and found a check for $10,000 from my parents. They had given each of my siblings notes forgiving the $10,000 debt they each owed. Since hubby & I hadn’t borrowed anything they gave us the check. The second gift was when they had a large aquamarine gem I had purchased while on a mission trip in Brazil set for me. A beautiful setting that included one of the small diamonds from my mom’s wedding set. Hubby had snuck it out of the house for them. I was blown away when I opened the box and saw my beautiful necklace, & especially by who had done it.
    Tori

I'd love to hear from you!

