A Writer’s Interdependency

A year ago I posted about support systems. I think we all appreciate a little encouragement from time to time. It’s both comforting and reassuring, but on occasion there’s more to the shoring up than we may realize.

I believe there are times when we can look back and recognize that the help we’ve received is more like a sturdy snake rail fence or a well constructed log building. We’re not just propped up and supported by helpful friends, but are embedded right into a mutually beneficial structure.

Published authors see it all the time. Each person or agency encountered throughout the publication process is integral to the others. There are the writers who craft stories, editors who help improve them, agents who find homes for them, illustrators and printers, publicists, booksellers and readers, all who have a vital role to play, and are interdependent on the others for their success.

Our original Cariboo cabin, circa 1949, as it looks today. (Click to enlarge)

I’ve always admired old Cariboo fences and log cabins. Sound construction principles help them endure. Makes me think our traditional publishing methods probably will, too.

What’s your opinion?

~

“He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built.”
[Luke 6:48 NIV]

~  ~  ~

9 thoughts on “A Writer’s Interdependency

  1. Sharon O says:

    I think I agree with you. We need each others encouragement.

  2. Katt says:

    As I read through your blog and admired your photography (as usual!) it occurred to me how true it is. And also like our writing, our life and faith, have to have a foundation–a firm foundation—(great manuscript) to withstand each of the stages of publication….great, thought provoking blog—–you are a fabulous writer and photographer!

  3. Yes Carol, they will indeed endure and when the dust settles from all the hoopla of this current craze, they will be standing tall, waiting for their next “crop” of writers 🙂

    • Carol says:

      I can’t say I see epublishing as a craze … more as a useful alternative that has a valid place in the industry. I just think it will continue alongside traditional publishing, not replace it.

  4. My natural tendency has been to go it alone. This past year I’ve learned a great deal about how much we all need each other – how much stronger we are with the connections than without. Love your post and as always, your photos:)

  5. Maureen says:

    Thanks for visiting at my blog – glad to have you there, and discovered your blog in the process. A good example of the interconnections that encourage us all so much. I am a loner, but, like my friend Brooke said, I am learning how much we all need each other, how much each of us has to offer in this writing/blogging world.
    I don’t think traditional publishing will disappear – too many people want to hold a book and turn real pages in their hands. But things are changing. Our job is to pay attention, keep learning, keep listening, and of course, keep writing! Thank you for your encouragement.

  6. pastordt says:

    I am a big believer in community support, though I have only the most basic understanding of how the publishing industry actually works. I’m guessing that the benefits of community are found all along the road of getting a book edited, published, promoted and sold. LOVE your pictures – as always.

  7. joylene says:

    I couldn’t have, nor would I have gotten this far without the support of all my writing friends. I remember back to before the internest, and it was a lonely, isolated life. Even with my large family. I have the support of them, but they didn’t understand what it meant to be a writer, or wanabee writer. To spend time with like-minded people is so invaluable. We all need each other.

  8. Carol says:

    Writing is often touted as ‘a lonely pursuit’ because most often the writer toils in solitude with his/her words. But like a lone log burning in a fire, it’s hard to keep the passion alight without occasional encouragement (or prodding). The writing community is a unique and supportive place to find it.

I'd love to hear from you!

