Teetering on the Writer’s Brink


(Click photo to enlarge)

Teetering on the brink. It’s a cliché, but apt, because I’m getting ready to fall head first into March. I’m gonna be swamped; I just know it! But sometimes taking a deep breath and leaping is what it takes to get somewhere, and I definitely need to be somewhere other than where I am.

I’ve been complaining to anyone who’ll listen that my current w.i.p. is lagging. Of course the complaining isn’t doing anything to help. What I need is a burst of enthusiasm – something to get my BIC (butt in chair) and keep it there. I’ve reluctantly decided accountability might be what it takes.

So, beginning tomorrow I’ve committed to participate in two very public, wild writing endeavours:

 

Seekerville Speed Book, aka Speedbo, is, in Glynna Kaye’s words, an opportunity to fully focus on that new story idea or current Work in Progress (WIP). It’s a chance to join your fellow ‘Friends of Seekerville’ (both pubbed and unpubbed) in an energizing month of fun, hard work and productivity.”

 

The other, March Madness, is Denise Jaden’s challenge: If you have a writing project you’re ready to start, or a work in progress you’re ready to finish, come and join the fun. Accountability is our main aim and the more support we have, the easier it will be to sail on through the month of March, bouncing along on each others successes.” In addition to cheering us on toward our writing goals, Denise has arranged for daily check-in sites and prizes to be won.

Care to join me? I’ll be here on my usual schedule, although I probably won’t make it around to other blogs quite as often while I’m scrambling to gather my novelling words. But if your output needs a little boost, you’re welcome to join in either or both endeavours, by signing in at the appropriate website — just click on the logos above to get there — today.

Or, for something less formal, check in here throughout the month and let me know how your writing is going. I’m a good listener. 🙂

Either way, I’m determined March is going to be my month to take the leap and make it past the wasteland and back into the verdant land of productivity again. Beginning tomorrow morning I’m adopting author Robert Dugoni’s battle cry: This day we write!” (By the way, if you need a powerful shot of motivation, click on the link and scroll down to hear Robert’s audio clip.)

 ~  ~  ~

16 thoughts on “Teetering on the Writer’s Brink

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Thank you for the much needed nudge. I’ll be checking out both challenges. I have two wips (one fiction, one non-fiction) that need attention desperately.

  2. Good for you , Carol. We need the “company of others” to hold us when we need a hug, to push us when we need a good shove, and a round of applause when we reach out next goal !! I have struggled with a query (hate them) and have surrendered to the truth that without them, our work is fodder for the fire. I’ll keep you posted becuase in March, I begin my blog Bookfest, send out chapters of that book and begin the revision on a series I am deeply committed and passionate about.

    I look foward to reading about your progresss. You go girl and write on !!

  3. Keli Gwyn says:

    Carol, I wish you well as you embark on your writing challenges.

  4. Well this is certainly timely!! Earlier I was reading a blog I frequent regularly where she talked about how her reading menu planning and dinner menu planning spilled over to help set goals for her writing as well. I was encouraged. And now you’ve put a method out there by which I just might get my BIC where it needs to be and moving ahead. I will check out these two challenges. Thanks, Carol

  5. Shari Green says:

    This day we write!! (Actually, thanks to my work schedule, I’ll write starting March 3, lol, but I WILL WRITE!)

    Good luck, Mom. Let the madness begin! 😀

  6. careann says:

    Good morning! You all sound very positive about this madness of mine. March seems like a good month to push ahead toward goals. It’s that little slump between Christmas and Easter — the ideal time to refocus our efforts.

  7. Terrific incentives–thanks for letting us know about them I’m going to link at my blog. Good writing to all…

  8. Darlene says:

    Good luck Carol. This is a noble endeavour indeed! If I wasn’t going back to Alberta to look after an ageing mother and return to start a new job in March, I would join you. I will follow along and cheer of course.

  9. joylene says:

    Sounds like you’re going to be very creative next month, Carol. Bravo. I’m still trying to catch up after taking January off. No problem getting down to business, now that I’m on the last leg of this bug thing. Crossing fingers and praying NO MORE BUGS.

  10. I’m running over to check these out. I don’t know if I can participate this round, but I am thrilled to find a month other than November to focus on writing. 🙂 I’ll be watching your progress, my friend.

  11. And P.S. I LOVE that photo.

  12. Thanks for those links, I’ll check’em out. You go girl!

  13. Sherrinda says:

    I haven’t heard about March Madness! I will go check it out. I am doing Speedbo though! Happy Writing!!!!!

  14. careann says:

    Whew!! Out all afternoon and heading out soon for the evening! Not a lot of writing was done today as the widget in my sidebar indicates, but every little bit counts for something, doesn’t it? I hope if you’ve decided to join in, you’ve had a more productive day. Be sure to let me know.

  15. I clicked on your post because the photograph beckoned me. Then, I read your post and appreciated the prompt to “sit my butt in the chair” and write. Thank you for the pic and the push!

I'd love to hear from you!

