Escape Into Winter

.

An escape route that leads nowhere

but away.

Some days

away is where I want to be.

I could slip from the room unnoticed

but not reach the bend

out of sight,

thanks to that fence.

.

There is always a fence.

.

(Click to enlarge)

.

Eyes linger

where my feet can’t go.

There is perceived respite…

a moment of visual escape

in burnished branches and untouched snow.

A moment of tranquility.

.

~

For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him.  He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.
.
[Colossians 1:16-17]

~  ~  ~

.

8 thoughts on “Escape Into Winter

  1. Carol, these are lovely images … love that there is always a fence 🙂

  2. Beautiful poem, Carol. Bible verse that fits it like a glove. I’ve been on Respite these past five days. My hubby will be delivered back home today. I was able to catch up on sleep and get many things accomplished. I was away at the fence enjoying the view. Blessings to you…

    • careann says:

      Carol Ann, I’m so glad you’ve had some respite time this week. No matter how willing a caregiver is, it’s still a difficult task and you need time periodically to recoup.

  3. Oh, so lovely, Carol. Thank you!

  4. joylene says:

    I’m so sorry for you loss. Because although we know your brother is with God in heaven, goodbye’s are still difficult. Beautiful words. Thanks, Carol, for always showing such dignity. You don’t know it, but your timely posts fit well with my life.

    • careann says:

      Thanks, Diana and Joylene. This photo was taken from the Barrie Golf Club where the family had gathered for brunch prior to the memorial service. It’s a rural area… a lovely serene location.

  5. planaquarium says:

    Ah, the verse is the sweet finish to this tender, lingering look at distant places of beauty…how often my heart has said “away is where I want to be”…

I'd love to hear from you!

