New Perspectives

.

While visiting one of my favourite blogs on Thursday, Susan Atole’s Just… a Moment, I was intrigued by the unusual perspective in her featured photos. She said it was on the High Calling Focus blog that she encountered a challenge to lay on her back for taking photo shots. It was a challenge I couldn’t ignore

This unusual perspective offered design and reflections, glimmers of colours and shapes not previously noticed. The ordinary became extraordinary.

There’s something to be said for lifting our eyes beyond the obvious. If we always look at things from the same perspective, we’re going to keep seeing the same things in the same way. It’s true in life, and it’s true in writing.

I’ve been doing some editing for a friend, and am appalled at how often I’ve found an error in sections already line edited several times. “How could I possibly have missed that?” Every time I read through a chapter on the computer my brain insisted on reading what it expected to find, not necessarily what my eyes were seeing. It wasn’t until I printed the manuscript and read it in the new format that more errors popped out at me. For the final proofing I printed it again, but in a different font, and found still more.

A new perspective provides fresh inspiration when we’re bogged down writing a scene, too. Where do we go when our only idea keeps leading us to a proverbial brick wall? Sometimes we need to take the story on the road … write in a different environment, use different tools, maybe give the scene to a different character.

A different perspective tricks the brain into shifting its thinking. And that new viewpoint may be all that’s needed to stimulate the mind and send it off in a fresh direction.

Besides laying on your back, how might you achieve a new perspective for an existing project? Has a new perspective ever helped you out of a dilemma? 

~

~

Today I’m also talking about Dealing with Transitions at The Pastor’s Wife Speaks Blog. Please click on over and join me there. [I’ve just learned The Pastor’s Wife Speaks blog will be discontinued at the end of November, so this is my last post there.]

4 thoughts on “New Perspectives

  1. joylene says:

    I tried reading the chapter backwards, but that only helped to find spelling mistakes, it didn’t show me holes or errors in the plot. I never thought to move my photography tools onto writing though. Makes sense. I do love to lay down on the floor and snap photos of our animals, right at their head level. I’ve even sat on the floor to take pictures of our grandchildren. They like it because I’m not looming over them with the big lens.

  2. Shari Green says:

    When I hit that “brick wall”, I’ll try writing long-hand for a while — it really does seem to make a difference. Also, forcing myself to brainstorm TEN possible solutions to the plot problem I’m facing will give me that needed new perspective. At first, I can’t see beyond the initial one or two ideas, but writing down ten (without evaluating them yet) is like opening new doors.

    I haven’t tried a lot of “different environment” nudges for stuck perspectives, but I may do that more, cuz I think there’s something to that! Thanks. 🙂

  3. S. Etole says:

    Thank you so much! It certainly was an interesting and challenging photoplay this time.

    I find it much easier to spot errors on a printed page than on the computer. It seems it even reads differently for some reason.

  4. I so love Susan’s site and the way she sees. Amazing what she sees when she looks deep past the obvious. And the thought of shifting perspective even in our writing to trick our brain–I like that thought. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

