“For the Beauty of the Earth…”

During our travels this past weekend we climbed mountain passes where cooler temperatures had created autumn’s colours in all their God-given glory.

The first couple verses of Pierpoint’s hymn, “For the Beauty of the Earth” repeatedly sang themselves in my head and made my heart join in:

For the beauty of the earth,
For the glory of the skies,
For the love which from our birth
Over and around us lies;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This our hymn of grateful praise.

For the wonder of each hour
Of the day and of the night,
Hill and vale and tree and flower,
Sun and moon, and stars of light;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This our hymn of grateful praise.

 [Folliot S. Pierpoint]

.

.

.

.
“O worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness: fear before him, all the earth.”
[Psalm 96:9]

.

 “One generation will commend your works to another; they will tell of your mighty acts.
They will speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty,
and I will meditate on your wonderful works.”

[Psalm 145:4-5]

 ~

14 thoughts on ““For the Beauty of the Earth…”

  1. Judith Robl says:

    A sermon in a song and a paean of praise in pictures. Beautiful photography, magnificent subjects.

    I particularly love the last woodland path. It may appear in a story of mine sometime. Thank you.

  2. Lovely photos, Carol. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Such beautiful photos of our great country, Carol. I love that hymn. Now it’s going in my head, too. So appropriate!

  4. Paula Osborne says:

    Thanks for sharing your pics, I too like the outdoors and ponder how it was all created, I esp like the garnet colored leaves in the woods, so beautiful. God gives us so much and ask so little from us…..

  5. Beautiful words and pictures; thank you!

  6. Keli Gwyn says:

    I love seeing the change of seasons. Your pics of the fall colors are wonderful.

  7. Katt says:

    I love that song. What beautiful fall pictures…. God’s palette.

  8. Thanks for stopping in to comment today. Katt’s phrase, “God’s palette”, is exactly right! There is no greater beauty than His creation.

  9. Deb says:

    Great photos Carol. I’m glad you posted them. Awesome blessing for me today. I do miss fall. Was born up north. You never forget the colors & smells. Guess we need to make a trip up north soon.

  10. Hi Carol –

    Beautiful pictures!

    The trees are just beginning to turn color here. Even during our trip up north, we didn’t see the vibrant hues normal for this time of year. A cold front is coming through, so maybe that will change soon. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Susan

  11. karen evans says:

    How lovely! I wish I could hear that water running down among the trees. Looks so peaceful.

  12. S. Etole says:

    God pulls out all the stops when it comes to autumn’s colors, doesn’t He?!

  13. Bonnie Bender says:

    Love your pictures of God’s great creation! How blessed we are to be able to enjoy it! The strains of this hymn floated through my head after I was asked to “say grace” at my local Garden Club’s upcoming District meeting. So tomorrow I’ll recite the 1st two stanzas & then ask God to bless our meal! That makes me think of another song–“God is so good!”

  14. I’m so glad you’ve found the beauty in these landscapes inspiring. God is the ultimate artist in nature!

I'd love to hear from you!

