A Wet Welcome to Fall

.

Rain spills from the sky, sloshing down my windows, washing away last month’s accumulation of dust, and puddling on the abandoned patio table. Trees reflect on the water-slickened deck, while tiny droplets hover on the edge of the eaves, swelling until they suddenly drip into oblivion.

Elsewhere leaves are watered off limbs and into the grass, scattering amber and gold and brown.

This is a time of melding. There is resignation contained in the day, regret for summer’s end. But there is rejuvenation, too. A new season begins… the one promised three weeks ago when we began returning to fall routines. I like a lot of fall’s promises: the visual echo of colours edged with crispness, the silence of sung-out robins replaced with honking geese, the coziness of feathery duvets shaken from closets.

There is a spillover into my writing – a fresh energy to accompany new words. Do you feel it, too?

~

12 thoughts on “A Wet Welcome to Fall

  1. Beautiful. Yes, fall is a time of renewal for me as well.

    Best wishes from Ellen in Wisconsin, USA…

  2. Judith Robl says:

    The spillover seems to have gotten into my calendar. I look at it and am flooded with obligations outside of writing. Crunch time has new meaning around my house. It isn’t the crunch of fallen leaves underfoot, but the crunch of my old bones as I scramble to get too much done in too little time. Where did it all go … again?

  3. Paul Greci says:

    Nice photos! I like the changing of the seasons, too. It’s like having a fresh start that can transfer over to other projects, like our writing.

  4. Your prose are poetic, Carol. Such lovely descriptions. Honestly, you capture my imagination and me make happy to see the fall colours. Yes, I feel it.

    God Bless.

  5. Paula Osborne says:

    Liked your descriptions of the fall weather and rain. I am happy to see a few cooler days now. Ga does not get really really cold so wintertime here is pretty good. I am tired of the very hot days and ready to walk outdoors more with the cooler weather, thanks for sharing your beautiful discriptive words.

  6. Just popping in to thank you all for your comments. I see several of you share my “fresh start” enthusiasm despite hating to see summer end. :)

  7. Katt says:

    I love the fall—living in Florida I miss the beautiful fall colors. I’m counting on you this year to supply me with lots of pictures! :D

  8. The 23rd, the first day of fall is my B-day and I celebrate both my advancing to another year and my fav season. Miss the colors in the NE, apple picking in the country, pumpkins and the days of baking that follow. Thanks for the great pictures and your mutual love of this time :)

  9. Season changes arouse the senses. When the first recognizable autumn breeze blows, I feel excited.

    What a lovely autumn post! Blessings to you, Carol…

  10. Laura Best says:

    I love fall, but haven’t hard much time these past few weeks to write. I’m getting ready to write the dreaded synopsis. Maybe I’m just dragging my heels.

    The leaves here are becoming quite handsome. I love October.

  11. Fall colours are always a lovely compensation for the shorter days and cooler temperatures. A belated Happy Birthday to you, Florence. What a perfect day to celebrate! :)

Leave a Comment

