September Signals

.

My fence-sitting days are almost over. This last big weekend of the summer signals a return to the other part of the year. That part where we think in terms of Monday to Friday. When glances at clocks and calendars reflect a pattern of schedules and routines.

September is ambiguous. It’s the odour of manure mixed with sweet cotton candy and grilled onions at a fall fair, dragonfly summer afternoons melding into shivery autumn evenings. Spiders begin hanging out, dangling between branches of yellowing leaves while the weeds continue their exuberant spread beneath blowsy geraniums.

Summer use to be when I expected to indulge in all the things there was never enough time for during the other ten months. September brings the reality that it didn’t happen.

While I mourn the loss of lazy days and summer freedoms, a smidgeon of eagerness tempers their demise. At one time it was sparked by shopping for school supplies. Later, it was enthusiasm for exciting new programs and activities. Now, my writing beckons with renewed urgency. Ideas that have simmered while I summered, are exploding like fireworks. I know from experience those glittering splashes of intensity are ephemeral and I’m anxious to hunker down with my notebook and laptop to grasp what I can.

Like a mirage, September’s hazy sunshine is deceptive. When Tuesday arrives it’ll be time to get off the fence and back to work!

What does the beginning of September mean for you? Does it bring regret or anticipation?

~

[Note: On Sunday, I’ll be posting about fog on The Pastor’s Wife Speaks blog.]

~  ~  ~

11 thoughts on “September Signals

  1. Judith Robl says:

    I absolutely love your command of poetic prose:

    September is ambiguous. It’s the odour of manure mixed with sweet cotton candy and grilled onions at a fall fair, dragonfly summer afternoons melding into shivery autumn evenings. Spiders begin hanging out, dangling between branches of yellowing leaves while the weeds continue their exuberant spread beneath blowsy geraniums.

    Dragonfly summer afternoons are so evocative. Ephemeral, translucent, fast flittering. I got goosebumps with the shivery autumn evenings. You are an observant poet. Thank you for this start to my day.

  2. Erica Vetsch says:

    Beautiful post! As Judith said, poetic.

    We’ve got some trees changing color, and cooler temperatures. It’s back to a more settled routine and scheduled activities here.

  3. Tricia says:

    September where I live is much the same as August–hot. But September 1st rings in the month starting with my daughter’s birthday. That alone makes September very special too me. And in the 12 years since her arrival, September is all about the birthday party. Fun, happy, and lots of cake. (Now I’m off to the store to buy a cake for her party tomorrow. Yesterday was family party. )

  4. mE says:

    Morning…You so do have a great feel for poetry, dear friend. And did you notice the tiny quarter circle of cloud (?) in the upper right corner of your “hazy” picture?
    Hummm.
    I think W. C. Bryant said, “Autumn…the year’s last loveliest smile”…and I’ve always been entranced by the variegated hues of color that Nature slips over green.

  5. Good morning, all. Thanks for checking out today’s post. You’re all so sweet, with your suggestions that it’s “poetic”. Some days it seems impossible to find adequate words; other days they slip out relatively easily. I gain inspiration from visiting your sites. Earlene, your “variegated hues of color that Nature slips over green” is beautifully expressed! As is Judith’s “fast flittering” summer afternoons. 🙂

  6. S. Etole says:

    What beautiful scenes you have shared in both word and image.

  7. September marks the beginning of Fall’s fashion show. There’s also the knowledge of winter’s approach – not something I relish.

  8. I have this image of children laughing, anxious to see their friends at school, excited about which teacher they’ll get. I miss the warmth of summer, sure, but there’s something cozy about pulling on my favourite sweater and sitting out front on a lounger, novel in hand, distracting by the eagles, robins, and woodpeckers feeding. Norman Rockwell paintings come to mind. Breezes, calm waters, whispering leaves. Quiet.

    Lovely pics, Carol.

  9. Love your post, Carol. So true! I have that feeling exactly. Now is the time to get back at it. Time to take the ideas that simmered while I summered. Heheh! Love it!

  10. Katt says:

    We are so blessed to live in an area where “September” is not a lot different than any other month. Perhaps a bit cooler. And of course we don’t have the beautiful fall colors that y’all have. I love September, but I loved August too. My kids used to make fun of me because my “favorite” season was the one we were in?!
    I love your pictures——and your words. Thought provoking….

  11. Margie says:

    September is the month to enjoy that I don’t have school age kids at home any more – no school lunches to make, no clothes to buy, no getting up early, etc.
    September is the month when the gardening tapers off significantly.
    September is the month when it is a pleasure to be a tourist, because most of the tourists have gone home!

I'd love to hear from you!

