“Life is Good”

The Christmas CDs have long since been tucked away. I parted with them reluctantly sometime late in January. There’s nothing stopping me from playing them year ‘round, of course, but it’s because I deprive myself of the music for so many months of the year that it re-emerges fresh and precious with each new Advent season.

Two of the carols that I’ve always liked both start out rather mournfully:

“’Twas in the moon of wintertime,

When all the birds had fled,…”

and

“In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,

Earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone…”

The songs do turn joyous, of course, as the Child’s birth is announced, but to me their lyrics and melodies are always wistful and haunting. They resonate with the longing for a saviour in the winter of our lives.

It matches the longing that many of us are experiencing now that March is a week underway and we’re still slogging through snow, slipping on black ice and muttering about  scraping our windshields.

Maybe that’s why I’ve saved acknowledging a particular blogging award for all these weeks… holding it close, savouring it, and the kindness of the one who sent it my way last month.

It’s in these “bleak midwinter,” not-yet-spring days that something to uplift us is a blessing. Joylene Butler’s “Life is Good Award” was one of those delightful surprises that I mentioned earlier this week… the kind  that catches us unaware and makes us smile.

I’m not following the criteria that accompanied the award, but just want to say, “Thanks for reminding me that life is indeed good, Joylene, and for bringing a bit of sunshine into my frosty day.” You make me think of one of my young granddaughter’s favourite Sunday School songs: “God is so good. God is so good. God is so good. He’s so good to me!”

Are there songs that often linger in your head, reflecting your heart’s mood? What song is replaying for you today?

~

10 thoughts on ““Life is Good”

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Chorus:
    Great is thy faithfulness, O God my father.
    There is no shadow of turning with thee.
    All I have needed thy hand hath provided.
    Great is thy faithfulness, Lord unto me.

    The verse I most rely on says:
    Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
    Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide,
    Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
    Blessings all mine with ten thousand beside.

    And then there is:
    “There is a place of quiet rest, Near to the heart of God….”
    “O come, O come, Immanuel…”

    Don’t get me started. I’ll be singing all day. How it that a bad thing?

  2. Judith Robl says:

    Congratulations on your award. I got sidetracked by the music thing. I love your blog and can’t wait to see what you’ve been thinking.

    • Judith – I can hear all those tunes in my head as I read your words. Great songs!. And I’m glad you get something out of your visits here. I sometimes wonder what visitors think… the ones that don’t comment… because I do wander from topic to topic. Most often I intend them to be writing-related, but they aren’t always.

  3. joylene says:

    When I’m sad beyond words, this is the song that comes to mind:

    “Give ear to my words O Lord
    “Consider my meditation
    “Hearken unto the voice of my cry
    “My King and My God
    “For unto You will I pray
    “My voice shalt Thou hear in the morning
    “O Lord in the morning
    “Shall I direct my prayers
    “Unto Thee and will look up”

  4. Today it’s Trust in Jesus, by Third Day. Part of the chorus plays in my head throughout the day: I trust in Jesus, My great deliverer, My strong defender, The son of God.

  5. Heather says:

    So many songs….so many moods

    It is Well With my Soul
    Joy to the World
    Oh Where Is My Hairbrush?
    Step by Step
    ….and about a million others. Is there ever NOT a song in my head?

I'd love to hear from you!

