March Madness Challenge 2011

I’ve done it again — signed up for Denise Jaden’s MARCH MADNESS CHALLENGE. It’s not that I want to be publicly humiliated, or that I’m enamored by failure. Committing to a specific goal has a way of pushing me into a do-or-die mind set, and I really don’t want to die.

The Challenge has been expanded this year to include any book or writing related goals — writing, reading, blogging, etc. Now that March has arrived the Challenge officially begins today. This is how it works:

  1. You set a goal in the comment section on DENISE JADEN’S BLOG (anything writing, reading, blogging, or otherwise book related). It can be as small and simple a goal as turning off your Internet while you write during the month of March. Or it can be as large as writing or revising an entire book.
  2. You check in daily (Monday through Friday) at the designated blog, and leave a comment. Let everyone know how you’re doing with your goal. Share your victories and struggles. Encourage others. The key is support and camaraderie.
  3. There will be prizes just for stopping by and letting everyone know how you’re doing and for encouraging others!

All the details are here on Denise’s blog. It’s where you comment to opt in (it doesn’t matter if you happen to be a little late in doing so). It’s where you’ll find the list and links for subsequent daily check ins. It’s where you’ll see the ever-growing list of wonderful prizes being offered just for taking part.

By signing up and announcing my commitment like this I’ve created extra motivation for myself. I’ve added reinforcement to my determination. My goals for March are:

  1. Complete the revision on my latest novel, SHOWDOWN… all 89,500 words of it.
  2. Read and review one book recently received for that purpose.

That’s it. Doesn’t sound too daunting, does it? That’s just because you’re sitting out there laughing! Why not figure out a realistic goal for yourself and join in the March Madness Challenge with me? I’d love some friendly company. Or even some not so friendly company if it helps prod me forward. How about it?

~

 

10 thoughts on “March Madness Challenge 2011

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Okay, I signed in. Goals are to get my blogging back on a schedule and to get my web site back up and running after a hacker attack.

  2. I’ll be working on my novel, IN THE RED. Although I won’t be signing on to the challenge, I’ll be rooting for you! You can do it!

  3. Shari Green says:

    Yay! Thanks for helping promote the Madness. 😀 And good luck! You can do it! *\o/*

  4. mE says:

    Well, I’ve posted…committing to my Dailies and working the Harrison saga, plus an outline for I DO. Got the entry for Ty. Looking forward to “Showdown”! ! !

  5. joylene says:

    Good for you, Carol. Shows you’re motivated. Good luck. Keep us posted.

  6. Thanks for posting this! I am going to check it out next.

    Your neck of the woods looks like mine; still snowy and cold. Oh well. 🙂 I’m glad I found you today. I’m an aspiring writer, follower of Christ, mother and so much more it just depends on the day you ask. Nice to meet you.

  7. A dental appointment slowed down my productiveness yesterday, but I did make a start towards my goal by doing some necessary reading (in between a lot of sleeping). Day #2 is off to a better start. Thanks for all your encouraging words.

  8. dave ebright says:

    When Denise suggested getting up 1/2 an hour earlier each day – I said fuggettaboudit. Too tired to write*, blog or promote R E right now.

    You’ll laugh at this – I’m writing something for little little kids right now. Teamed up with an awesome illustrator from Atlanta. Book 3 of the new JRA is sitting for a few weeks ’til I find some energy.

    • (Getting up at all is tough some mornings; getting up 1/2 hour early is unthinkable for me!) I’m not laughing at all, Dave. I’m excited to hear of your new project. A different direction can be as refreshing as a rest, plus I suspect those ‘little kids’ are going to be thrilled. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

