Mid-winter Writing Blahs

My houseplants are looking a little leggy and droopy these days. It might be they’re experiencing the mid-winter blahs that many of us feel at this time of year… discouraged from putting out any effort because light levels are low and chilly air hovers just beyond the window.

Maybe they need repotting in new soil and a bigger container where they can stretch out their roots and find fresh nourishment.

Maybe that’s what I need – something to stimulate growth, to encourage me to stretch.

In this winter of my creativity,

Lord,

bring

warmth to my soul,

wisdom to my words;

deepen the well of inspiration

in mind and heart

from which I would draw

in this winter of my creativity.

 

~

1 The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing. 
 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures, 
he leads me beside quiet waters, 
 3 he refreshes my soul…   5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. 
6 Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life…. [Psalm 23:1-3,5-6]

 

15 thoughts on “Mid-winter Writing Blahs

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Oh, Carol!

    Just when did you start living in my head and heart? You have expressed so beautifully exactly what I feel much of the time.

    With your permission, I’ll print this prayer and post it above my computer. Thank you.

  2. Paul Greci says:

    Thanks for the uplifting photo and words!! 🙂

  3. Thank you both. And, of course, you may print it if you wish, Judith.

  4. Carol, I spent a weekend unable to have a coherent thought, feeling the winter blahs in Southern Florida. I struggled with the ghosts of my memories and finally gave in to them.

    Your post is a gift and when I slipped off the ribbon and peeled back the pretty paper, there it was … an inspiration for the blahs wherever we may live.

    Thanks so much for your lovely words 🙂

  5. I experience those wintry setbacks in every season of the year. Your poem is beautiful and the photos fit perfectly. You have turned a discouraging subject into an adventure. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  6. Erin says:

    I’m feeling kinda blah about writing right now, too. Right now, I’m between projects (which is a good thing, I guess) but I have a deal in the works so I know I’d better get out of it.

    • Carol Ann and Erin — I guess we all fall into creative slumps at times, but I’m glad you found encouragement here. I’m a strong believer in Nike’s slogan to “just do it”… keep on keeping on until the light at the end of the proverbial tunnel gets brighter, as it always does.

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Carol J. Garvin, Carol J. Garvin. Carol J. Garvin said: For those days of Mid-winter Writing Blahs: http://wp.me/phaYw-Vl #amwriting […]

  8. Shari Green says:

    Beautifully put, Mom.

    It’s good that we label such “dry times” as the winter of our creativity, because it acknowledges the impermanence of such times. Spring will come….

  9. joylene says:

    (Big Breath) Thank you, Carol. I needed that.

    • Thanks Shari and Joylene. Yes, “Spring will come.” As Carol Ann says in her comment, the blahs can occur in every season, but I think the grey days of winter seem more conducive to them. I’m writing every day but sluggishly. I need the rain to stop so I can get out for a walk and oxygenate my brain. 🙂

  10. I think I’m feeling like your houseplants, too! I needed that prayer today. Very refreshing. Thanks!

  11. Jill Kemerer says:

    I know just what you mean. I miss sunshine and warmth, and so do my plants! I’ve been nurturing a little pot of basil on my windowsill. It’s doing good, but if I forget to water it even one day it wilts.

  12. I have a big palm wintering in the garage that usually sits on our back deck during the summer. Poor thing isn’t going to make it through the winter. I’m not great with houseplants but this is getting pretty bad! Thanks for adding your comments, Stephanie and Jill.

I'd love to hear from you!

