Misplaced Effort… Oh, Bother!


To quote Pooh Bear, “Oh, bother! “ Has this ever happened to you? You get a bright and shiny idea for a new story, and want to dive right in, except there are a lot of other things you need to get out of the way first before you’ll be able to focus on the new story. So you do your best imitation of the White Tornado, race around until all the subliminal clutter is eliminated, and voila… you’re ready to write. Except now that you’ve had time to ponder your idea it no longer seems so shiny.

Or, perhaps you’ve managed to ignore all the distracting chores and jump right into developing that idea. And you write. And you write. And then you sit back after about 5,000 words and realize it wasn’t such a great idea after all.

Yeah, it happens, and I think maybe that’s why I find this video so hilarious.

9 thoughts on “Misplaced Effort… Oh, Bother!

  1. Oh yeah! I identify with what you wrote. I even identify with the snow dude!

  2. Judith Robl says:

    You have just reprised my entire week… and at least half of my life.

  3. Jody Hedlund says:

    The video IS totally hilarious, Carol! Love it!! Thanks for the smile! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  4. Tricia says:

    So true. That’s hilarious.

  5. joylene says:

    Hahaha. Oh that poor man!

  6. mE says:

    Got a notebook (big ringbinder) full of ’em *) And LOOK! Sunshine!
    Luv-ya,
    mE

  7. Great video!

    I’ve had lots of shiny ideas that went nowhere. I’m saving them just in case they can be polished later.

  8. I’m glad you all appreciated that video as much as I did! I think most of us have a supply of false starts that, like Carol Benedict, we’re saving “for a rainy day”, or “just in case”. 😉

  9. Laura Best says:

    Oh yeah, that all sounds too familiar….

    41 sec. videos are doable on dial-up–that made me laugh out loud, but I’m twisted like that!!! LOL!!

I'd love to hear from you!

