Eye to Eye: a Spider Encounter

Spiders and I don’t see eye-to-eye… at least, not unless I walk head first into one, which I almost did last night.  I don’t know how I missed it on the way outside, but as I was about to go back in through the door I jolted to a sudden stop as a huge spider (and 3” across is a monster to me) clung to the doorjamb right at eye level.

Instead of busily doing what industrious spiders normally do, she chose to hover there and take in the view of our family room through the glass door. A gigantic eight-legged peeping Tom!

Since I live in the country I love seeing the wildlife in its place. However, I take offence at any that get too close to my space.  I don’t like bugs that try to trade their domain for mine.

Which is why I used a piece of firewood to capture and fling that spider back to the garden where she belonged. (Oh, I guess I have to be truthful here. Actually I flattened him. When I feel threatened I react rather violently. My apologies to those who think all of God’s little creatures should be protected.)

It’s also why I discouraged a nest of baby spiders from thinking they were going to adopt a corner of the deck as their personal nursery. I don’t care what their Momma told them. They’re not welcome here. They may be tiny now but I don’t want to have to cope with them when they grow up.

When it comes to most wildlife I have a live-and-let-live policy. With spiders… not so much. It’s not exactly a phobia. It’s just the way I am. I. Detest. Spiders.

What about your characters? Do they have pet peeves or irrational fears that affect how they react in certain situations?

15 thoughts on “Eye to Eye: a Spider Encounter

  1. patti says:

    Haven’t really thought about this type of thing.
    Yes, they DO have pet peeves, on things like lying, but not arachnids!!
    LOL, Carol,
    Patti

  2. I, too, have something against spiders. They freak me out and I don’t care how nice they are touted to be. A spider that enters my space, has made a fatal mistake.

  3. joylene says:

    I’m not a big spider fan, but even I get a card and a glass and transport the spiders outside. Course, our spiders aren’t known for their size in them here parts. Don’t you know: if you kill a spider, it’ll rain?

  4. joylene says:

    Ps. My characters are all rather normal when it comes to phobias. Except for those who kill for a living. They don’t count.

  5. elderfox says:

    You and me both!!! God punished me once by dangling a BIG spider in front of my face and I have to admit I did deserve it… I’ve never forgotten His lesson.
    mE

  6. Dave Ebright says:

    My mother mailed a big dead spider to her sister-in-law when I was a kid. I learned lots of cool stuff from my parents.

    My characters tend to run up against dead folks…. & armadillos

  7. Laura Best says:

    Not a big fan of spiders, but I’m not really frightened of them either. When my son was young he used to catch snakes and keep them in a “pit.” Although I don’t like snakes, I was brought up to believe that they eats lots of unwanted things likes bugs and spiders and should be respected.

    I’ve never given any of my characters an irrational feel or pet peeve. Not sure why. I may have to in the future.

  8. I’m glad I’m not the only one that isn’t a fan of spiders. Joylene, even if I’d been brave enough, I don’t think I have a glass that would have fit over her unless she’d have pulled in her elbows! And Dave, what kind of person mails spiders to other people? No wonder you have a peculiar sense of humour!! I can handle snakes, though, no problem. Maybe I should keep one around to eat the spiders?

  9. Dave Ebright says:

    If you ever met my aunt, you’d mail her a spider too!
    My mom helped make me who I am today. She would say something off the wall to a neighbor & later their kids would ambush me, trying to kick my butt. I had no idea why they wanted to fight, until later, so I managed to get real tough – real fast. She once told one of my teachers to ‘shut up’. I ended up with detention for 2 weeks with no reason given. Okay – back to spiders n’ snakes.

    • Sounds like you have an interesting family… in retrospect, character building, but at the time to a kid it probably didn’t seem like it. Whatever the case, strong but with a good sense of humour is a good combination.

  10. Tricia says:

    I have an irrational fear of spiders, black widows, inparticular. I have tons of black widows where I live. I’m always spraying them with a sharp stream bug killer from ten feet away. Even from that distance I fear for my life. If one ever touches me, I will die insantly.

    PS The picture you have of the spider was so scary, I had to quickly scroll down so I couldn’t see it anymore.

    • I’ve read that there are black widows in my province but I’ve never seen one. (Of course, I don’t generally stop long enough to take close looks!) Most of ours are harmless but they still make me shudder. I’m sorry about the picture. I have to scroll quickly, too! But that’s what was on my doorframe. 😦

  11. Ewwww! Eeeek! Are those stingers in the back end?

  12. Kekaburro says:

    I read this after Googling “baby spiders”, trying to identify a nest in my garden. What a shame you destroyed one of nature’s most effective beneficial insects. Had you let them be, they would have dispersed and you’d have been none the wiser. Shame.

    • careann says:

      Somehow I missed your responses at the time… sorry.

      Thanks for stopping by here, Kekaburro. Yes, I know spiders are beneficial, and they’re welcome to take up residence in my garden. However I had barely a twinge of guilt in removing them from near my patio table. I don’t need them going about their task too close to where I’m going about mine.

      Sandra, I don’t know what those are. I do know that despite its huge size, the “Giant House Spider” is harmless to people. But I agree: “Ewww! Eeeek!”

I'd love to hear from you!

