Writing the Last Word — Yours

I haven’t given much thought to epitaphs on gravestones, especially not my own, but when Jon Gibbs mentioned the words he plans to have chiseled on his gravestone I decided maybe it was something we should all consider.

As writers we get caught up in our quest for publication, hoping our words will be immortalized, but in reality our stories might never make it past the submission stage. Or if published they may spend eons languishing on dusty shelves in obscure secondhand bookstores. I’m not wishing this on anyone, of course, just pointing out that words carved into stone are more permanent. 🙂

If you were to choose the words to appear as your final statement, what would they be? (Then go check out Jon’s post… he has some dandies planned!)

13 thoughts on “Writing the Last Word — Yours

  1. patti says:

    Careann, AMAZING post and NOT something we think about…until it’s too late.

    THANK YOU!!!

    I’ll put it in the pike!!!
    LOL

  2. Dave Ebright says:

    My entry – “To view my final words, please visit Amazon.com & click the buy button……”

  3. Erica Vetsch says:

    Interesting thought. I’m torn between two.

    Either “I thought I had another week.” or “Her spirit makes laughter in heaven.” 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    Oh, probably something about the amazing daughter I was. What do you think, Mom?! 🙂

  5. Jon Gibbs says:

    Thanks for the link, Carol 🙂

  6. joylene says:

    Okay, I’ve spent the morning thinking about this. Here are a few ideas:

    Here lies Joylene Butler who thought it was sad to write everything she thought on her blog.

    Here lies Joylene Butler, although she’s actually not really here. She’s “there”.

    Here lies Joylene Butler whose last words were: “God, I hope there’s ice-cream in heaven!”

    Here lies Joylene Butler, author, blogger, friend, wife and mother, and not in that particular order.

  7. I’ve never thought about that, but I probably should. Something to bring a smile. Thanks for commenting on my blog.

  8. Joseph says:

    Mine might read ” Here lies one big Idiot who had a ton of fun defining what it meant throughout his life”

  9. Laura Best says:

    There is supposed to be a tombstone in E Dalhousie (although I have yet to see it, the internet tell me this)–a particular man in E. Dalhousie lived to be 101 yrs.
    His stone reads “The good die young.”

    For me perhaps : “She had her share of laughs!”

  10. Tricia says:

    The End.
    Stay Tuned for the exciting next chapter in the afterlife series …

  11. I’m liking all these! Dave, you’ve found a great way to meld the before and after. LOL And Erica, I like both your choices. Maybe if the stone is large enough you could fit on both of them? Joylene, I’m with you on the ice cream bit! 😉

  12. Joseph, that’s definitely a “no regrets” comment that many people probably wish they could echo. If I were to live to 101, Laura, I’d have to figure out what helped me get there. (People would want to know, wouldn’t they?) I don’t know about that man’s lifestyle, but it sounds like you’re content with yours.

    Tricia, I don’t know what to say. Yours has got to be the perfect writer’s epitaph!! Love it!

I'd love to hear from you!

