And the winning caption is…

Wow! Picking a winner was harder than I expected it would be. There were some very imaginative entries. I enlisted outside opinions and we finally came to a consensus, although not without almost reaching the fist-fight point. The compromise was to post the runner-up captions as Honourable Mentions.

BEST WRITING-RELATED CAPTION and winner of a $15 Starbucks Coffee gift card:

  • “I wonder if any of these are red herrings I can use in my novel?” (Carol Benedict)

Congratulations, Carol! I’ll e-mail you for a postal address and get your prize out to you soon.

HONOURABLE MENTIONS

Best caption for a book title:

  • “Lurking Beneath the Surface: A Thriller” (Patti)

Best screen-writing application:

  • “You can’t all be in the script!” (Norma McGuire)

Best non-writing-related caption:

  • “Um, Bob….you did not tell me this was an all you could eat buffet.” (Joseph)

Thanks for taking part in our fun contest, everyone. I think I’d be smart to consult with all of you when it comes to finding a title for my next novel! 🙂

7 thoughts on “And the winning caption is…

  1. Laura Best says:

    Congratulations to Carol B! I’m horrible at those kind of things. Guess my imagination isn’t very good 🙂

    Also Congrats to the honourable mentions. This was fun to read. I bet you had fun deciding, Carol!

  2. Joseph says:

    I probably would not consult with me for a book title. I like really obvious names for things so I would probably title it “Book” 🙂

  3. joylene says:

    Congratulations Carol. Yes! I know exactly where I’m going if I need a title for my next book. You guys are talented!

  4. Carol, thanks for providing this contest. There were some wonderful captions posted, so I’m honored you chose mine.

  5. Patti says:

    OOOOH, I got an honorable mention! Praise God.

    The red herring zinger is definitely better!

    P

  6. catwoods says:

    Love it! What a fun contest. Congrats to the winner.

  7. This was fun for me, too, but I can’t take sole credit for choosing the winning caption… it took a family consultation to decide! Three of the final top four weren’t hard to agree on (altho’ we did battle on Joseph’s because it wasn’t writing-related), but the “hook” references were popular, too. We’ll have to do this again sometime. Thanks, everyone!

I'd love to hear from you!

