A Royal Canada Day

Queen Elizabeth II is in Canada this week on her twenty-second official visit. She is Head of State in sixteen countries including Canada and is a popular figure here, always receiving a royal welcome. (Is that a pun? Sorry, I didn’t intend it to be.)

There are some who question the value of maintaining the monarchy as a ceremonial role in Canada, but I’m not one of them. In 1953, a Canadian law, the Royal Style and Titles Act, formally conferred upon her the title of Queen of Canada. At 84 she’s still a remarkable woman and I’m glad she’s able to be here to celebrate Canada Day 2010 in Ottawa.

The Canadian Press reported “she came to the throne on February 6, 1952, at age 25, following the death of her father, King George VI. During her reign, she has dealt with eleven British prime ministers, starting with Sir Winston Churchill. She has also dealt with eleven Canadian prime ministers, beginning with Louis St-Laurent.” Wow!

Happy Canada Day, everyone!

8 thoughts on “A Royal Canada Day

  1. I had no idea she’d been reigning since she was 25–wow! I hope I look this cute when I’m 84. Thanks for the photo and post.

    Love,
    Princess Jen

  2. Laura Best says:

    Happy Canada Day, Carol!!

  3. joylene says:

    I vote let’s keep her. She’s certainly a lovely addition to any family. Makes me proud to say God Save Our Queen.

    • Craig Oliver was discussing the monarchy on TV yesterday and saying that as much as people may question the relevance of it today, to change our system now would be a political nightmare and unbelievably costly — all the laws, our whole method of government, the face on our coins, etc. I hope that’s enough to forestall any future consideration of it. Apparently the Meech Lake Accord was the last time major reform of that kind was considered, but I’m so not a politician. I just like the status quo.

  4. Judith Robl says:

    I remember when she was crowned. She was twenty-five; I was thirteen. Such a regal princess becoming the queen! I have always thought her an elegant and gracious lady. What a blessing she is still hale and beautiful at this age. May she live long and remain healthy.

I'd love to hear from you!

