Wordle Reminiscence and a Word of Thanks

Exactly two years ago I posted my first blog entry entitled, “Becoming Visible,” the text of which forms the Wordle on this page. Chickadees and Flickers found their way into that post, providing examples of how I felt about venturing online with my writing.

Wordle: Visibility

I said, “It occurs to me that such birdy behaviour is reminiscent of an author’s dilemma: disliking interruptions as we focus on feeding our creative selves, and yet needing a degree of visibility to get what our resulting creation needs — readers. So I have arrived, fluttering noisily albeit reluctantly, into the world of weblogs. I have become visible.”

On my first online anniversary I posted a question, “After One Year What’s Next? Anything?” Like others who periodically wonder if the time spent on blogging really has any value, I questioned what had been achieved in the year. I concluded that because of this small page on the World Wide Web I have met a number of good friends and “have tiptoed into the open, pulling aside the curtain that separated the artificial layers of my persona from the authentic me. For an introverted writer that’s a gigantic achievement.”

Now, another year later, there is proof that this blog has served a third purpose. Today’s post is #311. Over three hundred times I’ve gathered words together to share something of importance to me that I hope has been of some interest to you. In addition to magazine articles and novel writing, I’ve engaged in over three hundred writing exercises that wouldn’t otherwise have made it onto a page.

So, to each of you who has taken time to visit here, I thank you for giving me a reason to continue writing these “musings and mental meanderings on life and writing.” You won’t have realized it, but you’ve been helping me improve my skills as a writer and that’s more valuable than any ‘giving back’ that I’ve been able to offer you.

.

19 thoughts on “Wordle Reminiscence and a Word of Thanks

  1. Becky says:

    Congratulations! I always enjoy reading your blog, and the writing exercises.

  2. I love your posts—they always make me feel better–and make me think!
    Hugs & Blessings
    Katt

  3. christicorbett says:

    Carol,
    Congrats on such a milestone! And I love the new look!
    Christi
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

  4. And that, my friend, is what writing is all about. Congratulations!

  5. *blogging I meant to say, not writing. Althought that, too. 🙂

  6. Paul Greci says:

    Congrats to you! I’ve been blogging for about seven months and am amazed by all the great people I’ve met online! Thanks!

  7. catwoods says:

    Congrats on your second anniversary. You definitely have something to celebrate!

  8. Laura Best says:

    Congratulations on two years! You’re always one of the ones I have to read!!

    Thanks!!

  9. joylene says:

    I’m so glad I took the time to check out your site, Carol, when I first discovered the link on the BC Writers page. Your words has added so much to my daily routine that I can’t imagine not visiting your site every day. Here’s to getting together one day over tea and muffins and reminiscing. Thanks for always making me think about things I might not have ever thought of. Thanks for making me want my own blog to mean something. And thanks for being you.

  10. nigne says:

    thanks for great sharing

  11. So glad we have helped you along your journey–you have added much flavor to our lives as well, dear sister.

    Jen

  12. joylene says:

    Forgot to say: I love the new look.

  13. dave ebright says:

    One of my favorite stops on the blogtrail…. I see you’ve renovated, thumbs up.

  14. Your blog is a joy to read. I hope you’ll continue to share your thoughts with us for many more years.

  15. Shari says:

    Happy blogiversary! (Writers get to make up words, right?) Your posts are always inspirational or thought-provoking, and you’re so consistent in your blogging. I hope to be more like you when I grow up…. 😉

  16. I love reading all your comments and appreciate the kind words and encouragement, thank you. Every so often in my reminiscing I consider the distance I’ve covered, especially in the last decade, and recognize that I wouldn’t be here at all if it weren’t for the support of my writing friends. A special shout-out to Earlene Luke [http://elderfox.wordpress.com] without whose gentle nudging I probably would never have attempted novel writing, never mind blogging.

  17. Jenn Hubbard says:

    Hope you have been enjoying these two years, and continue to have fun on this road!

I'd love to hear from you!

