Today’s the Day and I Did It!

Yes, I did. With a gnawing in my stomach that other years caused me to bypass my first choices, with lips pursed and heart thudding, today I took a deep breath, checked two particular names, clicked “submit” and cemented my decision.

Registration opened at noon today for the 2010 Surrey International Writers’ Conference. I’ve attended for several years and taken part in the editor and agent sessions, never confident that my writing was worth the time they gave to listen and evaluate, despite their encouragement. I love this conference for its information, inspiration, rejuvenation – and, of course, the pure pleasure of hobnobbing with other writers and writing professionals. It’s a heady environment!

This year I decided to register early and try to book an interview with my first choice of agent and editor. I value their opinion and can only know what that is if I actually present my material for scrutiny, right?

The deed is done. Registration and the appointments are confirmed. Gulp. Now I have to live with this trepidation for four months until conference time arrives. One consolation: I should lose weight between now and then. The butterflies are bound to consume any calories I manage to eat.

Do you have plans to attend a writing conference this year? Have you attended one before? How was your experience?

.

14 thoughts on “Today’s the Day and I Did It!

  1. Laura Best says:

    How exciting! I hope this conference proves to be a valuable experience for you and something tells me it will. Best of luck!

    The four months will fly by I’m sure.

  2. WOOHOOO!!!

    I hope it’s AWESOME!!!

  3. This sounds like a big step forward in your writing journey. I hope it’s a wonderful experience, too.

    I’d love to attend a conference. This year there’s one only 2 hours away, but I keep thinking about the cost and can’t get up the nerve to register.

    • I’ve been attending this conference since 2004. It’s always a struggle coming up with the funds but I go every second year now and save up especially for it. I know all conferences aren’t equal but I gain so much from this one that I feel I almost can’t afford *not* to go.

  4. joylene says:

    Bravo, Carol. I’m so envious. I’ve been trying to attend SIWC for more years than I am willing to admit. It’s a bad time of year for us for two reasons: Hunting season and highway conditions.

    I’m so happy for you. Will you be blogging during the conference to let all of us know just how wonderful it is? Wouldn’t it be great if Donald Maass was there too.

    • Remember that hesitancy I overcame? The agent appointment I made is with Donald Maass. 😮 I know his wife, Lisa Rector, since she used to be the instructor for my writing group, but I only know him to smile at, so requesting him was a bold move on my part. Actually getting the appointment is downright terrifying!

      I haven’t taken my laptop in the past but I might this time. There’s always so much happening right up until we collapse into bed, but it might be handy.

  5. Betty says:

    Way to go Carol! This will be a huge boost to your confidence I am sure. Wow, I am so impressed with you.

    • I’ve been playing at being a writer for long enough that I decided this year I should make some effort to move ahead even if it means getting out of my comfort zone. Now I’m way out of it! 😉

  6. Dave Ebright says:

    Thinking about attending one in October here in Florida – just to see what the fuss is about – though only for one out of the three days. There is a YA/MG author doing a workshop (Adrian Fogelin) @ this conference. She was a huge help to me – critiqued a large portion of the BL manuscript & gave me some great tips. I’d like to thank her in person.

    Hope you enjoy your trip – no need for the butterflies.

  7. Jody Hedlund says:

    Yay! So glad you’re stepping out! I attended my first conference last year–ACFW in Denver. And it was fabulous and nerve-wracking at the same time. I loved the connections with real life writers most of all. And I’m planning on attending again this year–it’s in Indianapolis. And I can’t wait!

    • “Fabulous and nerve-wracking” perfectly describes the first one I attended, too. So much to see and hear and do and learn! Having a book to promote will make your time at the Indianapolis conference a whole new experience. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

