Lies and Truth Revealed

The day cometh and now is… that I must admit to my “bald faced lies” and disclose the truth. Further to Tuesday’s post where I acknowledged receiving the “creative writer” award from Joylene Butler, I’m here today to reveal all.

Yea, Carol Benedict! You were the only person to guess correctly. #3 is absolutely true.

A summer camping trip took us through central Oregon and while sitting at a picnic table eating our supper in a state campground, we discovered a 3-1/2′ rattlesnake slowly curving his way towards the exercise pen that held our three Shelties. The men managed to reach over the far side of the pen and lift the dogs out in time and then we watched the snake in horrified fascination as it squeezed  its way through the bars into the pen, checked it out, and left via the opposite side. Neighbouring campers were from Arizona and insisted the snake could not be left to continue roaming the campground so “disposed” of it for us, and presented us with the rattle.

Wearing the nine foot python necklace happened at Vancouver’s Zoo while I was a playground director for the Vancouver Parks Board.  All directors were taken for an initial tour during which the curator brought out the python. He draped it over his shoulders and then asked for a volunteer to link hands with his so that it could crawl down his arm and up the other until it was comfortably hanging from the volunteer’s shoulders. I was the crazy volunteer. The snake hung to the ground on both sides of me. Unfortunately nobody had a camera handy.

Oh, and the mice? As a teenager I had pet white mice.

As for the lies:

  • My family loves camping and we’ve had a succession of eight different recreational vehicles (tent trailer, two travel trailers, two motorhomes, one fifth wheel and two campers) in which we’ve travelled on every major highway in Canada and the USA.

Lie. Yes, we’ve had eight RVs but our travel has only included most of the highways and byways of our home province of BC. We’ve driven across Canada from coast to coast once, but certainly didn’t get onto all the major highways. And when it comes to the USA we’ve only camped in Washington and Oregon .

  • I’m a natural brunette and have never dyed or bleached my hair. It’s liberally sprinkled with grey now, but I won’t be changing that anytime soon.

Lie. I’m a salt-and-pepper brunette all right, but back in the 70’s my mother and I decided to lighten our hair with blonde streaks, and I wore it that way for a couple years. At my age I’m not likely to do it again.

  • Snakes and mice don’t scare me. I’ve worn a 9’ python draped across my shoulders and have the rattle chopped from a 3’ rattlesnake that was looking to eat my dogs for lunch.

Absolute Truth. (see explanation above)

  • . Acting fascinates me almost as much as writing and I once played a small part in a movie that debuted at the Toronto Film Festival and went on to be listed as #6 in Time magazine’s ten top movies of 2000.

Lie. I have never acted in a move. However, as consultant  for the filming of the 2000 CastleRock movie, “Best In Show”, I was a crew member. It ended the year at #6 on Time magazine’s Top Ten list of movies, #8 top video rental, and #9 top DVD rental. (That was the same year that Margaret Atwood’s BLIND ASSASSIN topped the Time’s list as best novel. It felt great to have that special link with her.)

  • While visiting my daughter in the Yukon one February I got to watch the start of the 1,000 mile Yukon Quest dog sled race between Whitehorse, Yukon and Fairbanks, Alaska.

Lie. I did visit my daughter one February while she lived in the Yukon. I heard wolves howl and saw the northern lights while there, but I didn’t have an opportunity to watch any of the Yukon Quest.

  • I once drove a stockcar during preliminary time trials at the Digney Speedway in Burnaby, BC. The speedway was built by Andy Digney for the post-WWII midget racing boom and evolved to be a stock car track. It closed at the end of the 1958 season. Does that age me, or what?

Lie. I sat in stockcar #5, but never drove or rode in it. Sponsored by family friends who owned the Gateway Collision repair shop in Vancouver, and lettered by my uncle, it was driven by Roy Long in races at the Digney Speedway and elsewhere in the PNW. I attended the races with my parents.

  • Speed exhilarates me and I love riding the roller coaster at Playland in Vancouver. I attend the Pacific National Exhibition every summer and always take in at least a couple rides on the 50+ year old wooden structure.

Lie. Oh, BIG lie! (Sorry, Joseph.) I have attended the PNE occasionally but I rode this famous roller coaster just once. I was so terrified I swore I would never get on it again, and I never have… neither it nor any other one. I’m really not much of a speed freak.

That’s it, folks. That’s the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth! I hope you enjoyed these soul-baring revelations.

10 thoughts on “Lies and Truth Revealed

  1. Laura Best says:

    I don’t know, Carol. Seems to me that you got a pretty good handle on conjuring up believable stories. This was fun to read. I bet you had fun writing it, too. 🙂

  2. Laura Best says:

    Sorry, for the poor grammar in that comment LOL! My finger hit send and then it was gone.

  3. Tricia says:

    Shucks, I missed it. I would have guessed the acting one. It fit with the whole arts thing of writing. But come to think of it, I would never act, nor sing. Not good anyway. I’ll have to follow the liar award so I don’t miss playing again.

    • I acted in a high school play umpteen years ago, if that counts for anything… and I do sing in a choir. Nothing that would be Time’s Top Ten List calibre, however.

  4. joylene says:

    You are a wonderful liar, Carol. Very entertaining too. LOL. Ooh, did I mention my DH is terrified of snakes. Had we been there, I doubt the snake would have survived. Poor thing.

    • You do realize, don’t you, that this snake DIDN’T survive? The rattle pictured above is all that remained of him after the Arizona camper was finished! Somewhere I have two pictures I took of the snake as he was sliding through our campsite, but I have no idea where they are. The rattle was easier to find.

  5. Wow, you are one interesting liar, um, writer par excellence. I always call it literary license.

    So glad you saved the shelties. Whew!

    Love
    jen

  6. Paul Greci says:

    Three and a half feet!! That’s a big snake!!

I'd love to hear from you!

