Lying My Way to an Award

Fiction writing is all about creating stories out of nothing. No, on second thought, that’s not entirely true. It’s about creating stories that evolve from a seed of reality… some small truth that evokes an idea, a possibility, that the writer’s brain can’t wait to develop into a plot.

Recently Joylene Butler nominated me for LESA’S BALD FACED LIAR CREATIVE WRITER BLOGGER AWARD. At first I wasn’t sure whether to be honoured or insulted, but knowing Joylene’s good heart I’ve decided she meant it as a compliment and I sincerely thank her for it.

One of the conditions attached to this award is that I must post seven facts about myself, six of which are lies and one that is true. I must be a very honest person (or a poor fiction writer) because it’s taken me ages to come up with these facts, but here goes:

  1. My family loves camping and we’ve had a succession of eight different recreational vehicles (tent trailer, two travel trailers, two motorhomes, one fifth wheel and two campers) in which we’ve travelled on every major highway in Canada and the USA.
  2. I’m a natural brunette and have never dyed or bleached my hair. It’s liberally sprinkled with grey now, but I won’t be changing that anytime soon.
  3. Snakes and mice don’t scare me. I’ve worn a 9’ python draped across my shoulders and have the rattle chopped from a 3’ rattlesnake that was looking to eat my dogs for lunch.
  4. Acting fascinates me almost as much as writing and I once played a small part in a movie that debuted at the Toronto Film Festival and went on to be listed as #6 in Time Magazine’s ten top movies of 2000.
  5. While visiting my daughter in the Yukon one February I got to watch the start of the 1,000 mile Yukon Quest dog sled race between Whitehorse, Yukon and Fairbanks, Alaska.
  6. I once drove a stock car during preliminary time trials at the Digney Speedway in Burnaby, BC. The speedway was built by Andy Digney for the post-WWII midget racing boom and evolved to be a stock car track. It closed at the end of the 1958 season. Does that age me, or what?
  7. Speed exhilarates me and I love riding the roller coaster at Playland in Vancouver. I attend the Pacific National Exhibition every summer and always take in at least a couple rides on the 50+ year old wooden structure.

Okay, that’s the list. One of the above statements is cross-my-heart absolutely  accurate — but here’s where it gets tricky. Remember what I said about creative stories evolving from a seed of truth? Well, the six “bald faced lies” all contain some truth. I’ll leave it to you to figure out which one is totally true. I’ll do a follow-up post on Friday and reveal all.

The rules also say I’m supposed to nominate seven other lying-through-their-teeth bloggers, but I’m at a loss. I think I’m safest to stay within the family (who can you treat the worst but loving family members?) and will nominate just one:

Sorry, Shari, but I think you’re a great and imaginative fiction writer and I’m curious to see what whoppers you can come up with.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Lying My Way to an Award

  1. Great list of facts. I have no idea which might be true. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Joseph says:

    OK…here is my guess. The 100% true one is 7. The roller coaster one…Don’t know why I am leaning that way but just a hunch.

  3. Jody Hedlund says:

    Carol, you’ve stumped me! You are obviously a creative story-teller! And very adventurous I might add! 🙂

  4. joylene says:

    I have no idea why, but I’m choosing #5. One more thing, I’m shocked at how good you are at this. lol.

  5. I think #3 is true. Camping wouldn’t be fun if you were afraid of snakes or mice, and I know you’d do anything to protect your dogs (although I’m not sure if rattlers really eat dogs for lunch).

  6. Obviously I’m not going to tell any of you yet if your guesses are right or wrong. You’re learning a little more about me as you ponder the answer, since there is a kernel of truth in each possibility. I’ll enjoy your reaction to Friday’s revelations.

  7. Shari says:

    Haha! Good stuff. Thanks for passing on this dubious honour, Mom. I’ll see what I can come up with for my own bald-faced lies. 😉

I'd love to hear from you!

