Windy Thoughts on Writing

Wind whips through the trees this morning, flinging bits of branches to the ground and sending tiny fir cones skittering across the deck.

Our unpredictable springtime weather caught a few sailors off guard while they were anchored offshore from Vancouver’s Kitsilano Beach. This morning they’re no longer offshore but onshore.

Photo Credit: Nick Procaylo , PNG

This is the kind of day I’d like to be where my daughter lives, wandering the Vancouver Island shoreline, wonder-filled by the power of the waves. Blustery windstorms invigorate me. Yes, I know they cause all sorts of damage and inconvenience. Schools in town are all closed this morning because of power outages. But I love the dip and dance of the trees, birds sailing the sky with wings outstretched to catch the currents, puffs of cloud sprinting from one horizon to the other.

Wind can have contradictory connotations… of inspiration, music, change, the Holy Spirit, violent energy, or welcome refreshment on a searing summer day.

I look for a writing analogy and think of the Muse – a force that moves words, sometimes like a breeze, other times like a storm, transporting thoughts from the unknown into our minds. I think of the words themselves – words with power to move, to invigorate, to devastate.

How do you experience wind in your writing?


6 thoughts on “Windy Thoughts on Writing

  1. joylene says:

    And here I am terrified of the wind. It comes off the lake some nights at 100 km. I lay awake visualizing branches smashing through our huge front windows. That big storm we had in 1961 when I was 9 set the stage for the rest of my life. But a warm tropical breeze off the ocean… love that.

    • Some of our trees are 150′-200′ tall and they sure do sway in the wind. We removed a few that gave us concern but I reassure myself that they’ve been there for a very long time and the thick stand of trees help support each other. At least, that’s my theory. Fortunately the branches that fall don’t usually land beyond the lawns.

  2. christicorbett says:

    Carol,
    Right now I am the wind ripping through my novel and destroying passive verbs, adverbs and adjectives that don’t do much for the story, and tangents that go nowhere.
    This weekend promises to be very stormy in my house 🙂
    Christi
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

  3. Lately I feel like a tornado has swept through my brain wreaking havoc. My writing has suffered from it…

I'd love to hear from you!

