Of Red Mittens and March Madness

The lull after the closing ceremony of the Vancouver 2010 Olympics was temporary. Less than two weeks later we welcomed the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games and out came the red and white flags and our red mittens again.

We’re told that the audience for the Paralympics drew an international audience that set records for both winter and summer games thanks to the fact that organizers were the first to jointly promote the Olympic and Paralympic Games together. A record number of gold medals were achieved in both. Of the Paralympians, VanOC CEO John Furlong said, “You have been remarkable ambassadors of the human spirit.” It’s been a wonderful experience to follow the extraordinary accomplishments. The final curtain came down on all this athleticism at last night’s closing ceremony. The 2014 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games will be held in Sochi, Russia. Then I’ll be glued to my television once again, but it won’t be the same. The 2010 Games have been spectacular.

In other accomplishments unrelated and incomparable to the Olympics, I mentioned at the beginning of the month that I was accepting Denise Jaden’s invitation to join in March Madness – a month-long endeavour to reach individual writing goals. My goal was to revise at least one chapter of my novel each day for a minimum of five days a week. On day #22 of the month I have completed 33 of the 36 chapters! That wouldn’t be a remarkable achievement for everyone, of course, but it is for me. I’m delighted with the progress so I’m bragging a bit. You’ll allow me this tiny bit of celebrating, won’t you? I promise to get back in the traces tomorrow. There are still three chapters to go and they require some major re-writing. I’m keeping my red mittens out as inspiration.

7 thoughts on “Of Red Mittens and March Madness

  1. Joseph says:

    I think hosting them together was a fantastic move and kudos to Canada for being a great host nation. The mittens are cool too!

  2. Jody Hedlund says:

    Yay!! I’m celebrating with you for such great progress, Carol!! One chapter a day is a tough pace! I know, because that’s what I challenged myself to last fall when I was doing my rewrites. It was tough, but also very fulfilling! Keep up the great work!

  3. joylene says:

    I’m sad to see it all over too. It was an exciting month. Made me feel so proud to be Canadian. I’m also reminded how fortunate I am for living here. Yay, Canada.

    Best of luck on your goals, Carol. You’re a great inspiration. I hope I can accomplish a quarter of what you’re intending to do.

  4. Betty says:

    You are an inspiration Carol – setting goals and writing and many other ways too!!

  5. Joseph – I think the mittens are pretty cool, too. The Olympic Committee hoped to sell a million of them and ended up selling 3-1/2 million. They caught the fancy of everyone.

    Jody – Thanks for your encouragement. I’ve revised this ms, and revised and revised, but never really dug into it far enough. I hope I’ll be happier with it when I’m done this time. I’d like to try for representation now and also get back to work on another story that’s waiting to be finished.

    Joylene – I’m glad to be living in Canada, too. There are lots of places I wouldn’t mind visiting, but I can’t imagine living anywhere else. As for the revising… if you knew how long I’ve tinkered with this ms you wouldn’t think I was much of an inspiration! lol

    Thanks, Betty, but as I said to Joylene, I keep going back to this manuscript. Sometimes I wonder why, but guess I’m either persistent or too ignorant to know it’s time to stop. Either way, I hope to be finished once and for all by month end.

  6. You deserve to celebrate, Carol. Sticking to goals is hard, and you’re doing great!

    • Thanks, Carol. It’s been a challenge but I’ve used the same method our family used many years ago when we went on an extended RVing holiday across Canada. We worked out an itinerary for our nine weeks and it required we cover 200 miles per day. If we stopped an extra day somewhere we knew we had to make up 400 miles the next day. So the days I didn’t get a full chapter revised I made up for in the next session. And a couple days I managed to fly along through multiple chapters, so that’s helped. These last chapters are the hardest, however, since I’m having to almost completely rewrite them. 😐

I'd love to hear from you!

