Spreading the Green Around

Here we are again, smack dab in the middle of another green day that has nothing to do with ecology or saving the planet – St. Patrick’s Day 2010. Last year I posted a few pithy Irish facts here and included a video clip of the Chicago River being dyed green for the occasion. (I’ll leave the environmental benefits of that to your imagination.)

The Irish and Irish-at-heart (I’m among the former) love spreading a bit o’ Blarney today. In years gone by I’ve been known to spread green cream cheese in sandwiches and pour green milk into thermoses for embarrassing school lunches. One time there was even green macaroni and cheese for dinner with green tapioca pudding for dessert. I’m a little more grown up now (yeah, right!). I’ll just wish you the luck o’ the Irish and leave you with the traditional blessing:

Go n-eírí an bóthar leat.

May the road rise with you.

10 thoughts on “Spreading the Green Around

  1. Laura Best says:

    Green tapioca, macaroni and cheese, it all sounds unappealing and so green!!!

    Happy St. Patrick’s day, Carol!!

  2. I did green orange juice once, but never green pudding. I’ll have to give it a shot!

  3. christicorbett says:

    What fun with the food! I’m sure the school lunches gathered quite a crowd.
    Christi
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

  4. JaxPop says:

    Green tapioca? It’s bad enough that the stuff has fish eggs in it. Right? Isn’t that what they make it with??? Happy SPD.

  5. Everybody’s making fun of my green food! Hey, the kids always loved it and they’ve never forgotten to mark St. Patrick’s Day since.

    Dave, you’re just trying to gross me out. Fish eggs? Yuck!

  6. Shari says:

    I can vouch for the green food tradition — yes, she really did all that! And yes, we loved it and have never forgotten it. So thanks, Mom, for green milk! 😉

  7. joylene says:

    I used to plead with my mum when I was a kid to change our nationality from French/Metis to Irish. She’d laugh, until one day I exasperated her enough that she waved her magic wand and deemed me Irish. She even sang a lovely rhyme while rolling her Rs. I’m sure that’s why I’m a nicer person today. But I still can’t understand why I can’t roll my Rs too.

    • I don’t think our adopted daughter would have traded her Metis status for anything. I wonder what made being Irish so appealling to you as a child? I can barely roll Rs, so I don’t think it’s an important criteria. Whatever the case, I’m sure you’re a very nice person. 😉

I'd love to hear from you!

