The iPad Is Coming

I think I’m in love! Well, yes, I have been all along with my hubby, but we’re talking about electronic toys now, and they do more than help with the dishes and clean the garage! While its name has been controversial, the Apple iPad’s introduction last Wednesday substantiated the claims of those who said it would be out of the ordinary.

.

The new iPad is described as a cross between the iPhone and a MacBook laptop. It weighs just 1.5 lbs. and is a half-inch thick. Navigation is done with the flick of a finger on a 9.7” (measured diagonally) multi-touch LED-backlit screen that rotates between landscape and portrait positions. Thanks to IPS technology it has a wide 178-degree viewing angle.

.

It does just about everything, functioning with a powerful but efficient A4 chip custom-designed for Apple. It apparently has up to ten hours of battery life. With a starting price of $499 for the basic 16GB of storage it will be more affordable than many expected.

.

That’s still $499 more than I have to splurge on another toy, of course, so, love it or not, when it appears in March I’ll just be ogling it from a distance. But it sure is cool!

.

UPDATE:

Prior to writing the above I’d been out of touch for a few days. I’ve subsequently discovered lots of conversations about the iPad and its e-book/iBookstore implications. Two excellent articles can be found on recent blogs of Rachelle Gardner and Kristen Nelson.