BAD LATITUDE by author Dave Ebright – a Review

I came into possession of another Young Adult novel recently. I don’t read a lot of YA and write even less, but I’m recognizing that a fair amount of it is written for girls and not much for boys, at least not much that has good values and wholesome attitudes combined with the kind of action that appeals to today’s mid-grade readers. BAD LATITUDE: A Jack Rackham Adventure has it all.

Pirates, ghosts, buried treasure and rattlesnakes create a summer adventure for teenager Jack Rackham and his friend Kai in the haunted town of St. Augustrine, Florida. Nobody could write the story any better than St. Augustine resident Dave Ebright, seasoned storyteller and self-proclaimed lover of beaches, boating, and the old seaside town’s history.

Inspired by stories told to his grandchildren, Dave began writing his books for boys. BAD LATITUDE: A Jack Rackham Adventure is his debut novel. It blends fact and fiction seamlessly into fast moving entertainment with a cast of realistic characters including a few that sound suspiciously like the author and his own family.

BAD LATITUDE is available online as an ebook or in paperback from BookLocker. It can also be ordered in paperback from Amazon.com, Amazon.ca, and Barnes and Noble. A second book, RECKLESS ENDEAVOR, will follow early in 2010.

Visit Dave Ebright’s blog, JaxPop: Haunted City Writer. Just tell him Carol sent you. He’ll probably have words with me later.

9 thoughts on “BAD LATITUDE by author Dave Ebright – a Review

  1. Laura Best says:

    It may also be available at locally independent bookstores who will order it in. Oh, and I just checked it can be ordered through amazon.ca. Sounds like a good book for boys and you’re right there’s not a lot out there for boys.That being the case,I’m sure the series will do well.

  2. Becky says:

    I am glad to read this review.I’m always looking for books to recommend to our high school librarian. You’re right–there isn’t a lot out there for the guys. Especially for my problem readers, once they are done with Gary Paulsen and Gary Soto, there’s not much they’re interested in.

  3. Cher says:

    Good review. I don’t read much YA, but this sounds like it may be okay to read. I always found the YA section, mostly for girls, not very interesting. I’m more of a suspense reader. Pirates and ghosts are right up my alley.

  4. Thanks for your comments, Becky and Cher. I think it’s geared to mid-grade readers but I thought it was a blast to read.

  5. JaxPop says:

    What a pleasant….. shock. I’ve been out of town (again) & out of touch for a few days. Made it home around 7PM tonight & was catching up on my regular blog stops & found your review. I’m thrilled that you read Bad Latitude & that you said such nice things. Wow! It’s rare when I’m speechless – this is one of those times. I really appreciate the kind words. Very cool. Thanks Carol.
    DE

  6. Shari says:

    Thanks for the review. You know me — always on the lookout for another good MG/YA to add to my pile! Sounds like one Son2 might like.

Leave a Comment

