Remembrance Day

World War I ended 91 years ago at the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month. In the ensuing years we have gathered at that moment to remember and honour those who, in all wars, have served in the pursuit of freedom.

Poppies

One troop commander in Kandahār, Afghanistan commented this morning, “We remember our fallen every day,” and for the families of those who have died this is undoubtedly true for them, too.

Edison Garvin

Edison Garvin

Harry

Harry McGuire

In my family I think of my father-in-law, Edison Garvin, who fought in WWI at Vimy Ridge, and of my father, Jack McGuire, and an uncle, Harry McGuire, whose service was during WWII in Canada. I have little knowledge of their military memories because they seldom mentioned their war experiences. None lost their lives in war but they are gone now. On Remembrance Day I simply remember them… the people they were and how we loved them.

Jack

Jack McGuire

12 thoughts on “Remembrance Day

  1. Jody Hedlund says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful remembrance, Carol!

  2. joylene says:

    What a generous gesture, Carol, to share something so personal. Thank you. It is an important day and to see so much recognition for our troops of yesteryears and today makes me proud to be Canadian.

  3. Shari says:

    We will remember them.

  4. wikfamily says:

    And love them always.

  5. nonie vogue says:

    Thanks, Carol… we will remember!

  6. Joseph says:

    Carol, we will remember.

    I find it important on these days to come out of our comfort zone and thank those who serve or have served.

  7. That’s a nice tribute to your family and to all soldiers. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Dave Ebright says:

    Hope this link works – you should check it out. All letters from Canadians in the military – My aunt is included (from NS) http://www.canadianletters.ca/index.php

    Thanks for the post Carol – Terrific job

  9. Dave Ebright says:

    She was a Captain / Surgical trauma unit nurse (early version of MASH units?) in WW2. Her name was Frances Charman. Close to the action in North Africa & Italy. She mentions my grandparents & my mother in some of her letters, though she refers to my grandfather as Gladys’ old man. It’s a great site – lots of fantastic letters – some funny – some sad. Everyone’s mail was censored so not so much to be learned about locations or operations. Hope you like it – but don’t check it out ’til December.

    • Thanks for the extra info, Dave. I had a quick peek at the site and realized I could spend far too much time reading all the fascinating correspondence. (I saw your aunt’s photo… a very attractive woman.) I’ll go back again after this NaNo’ing compulsion recedes.

Leave a Comment

