NaNoWriMo – Ten Down, Twenty to Go

I’m back in time to mark the one-third point of this month-long NaNoWriMo writing frenzy. To meet the challenge of writing 50,000 words in thirty days one has to maintain an average of 1,667 words per day. That’s just an average, of course. If you take a couple days out of the regime to do something else – like maybe drive north to one’s cabin as I did – the scramble is on to make up for lost time.

Number crunching:

WordsI promised to report in on my return, so here are the numbers. With the help of DH’s generator to keep the laptop battery charged, I wrote my way through four of the past six days. To be on track at the end of Day #10 the accumulation should have reached 16,670 words. After falling behind during a couple travelling days I’m relieved to have posted tonight’s total as 16,812. Yay!!! Hibernation was a good thing! Now that I’m back in the real world again, however, if I’m to maintain the momentum I’ll have to stay focused. Did you notice one of the first things I did was hit the Internet and start blogging? Aghhh! Focusing is hard when you’re as undisciplined as I am!

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Ten Down, Twenty to Go

  1. Laura Best says:

    You’re doing great, Carol. As for focusing it looks as though you have me beat.!

  2. Dave Ebright says:

    Keep up the good work

  3. Thanks, Laura and Dave. 🙂 But the focusing was easier when I was away from all the cyber distractions and inevitable household interruptions. I’m back to barely making my daily quota but will keep trying.

  4. Shari says:

    Woohoo! Yay for all those new words! And probably by now you’ve broken 18k, all being well. Go, Mom, go!

I'd love to hear from you!

