The Olympic Torch

OlympicLanternIt’s here! The Olympic Flame arrived in Canada from Athens this morning aboard a Canadian Forces airbus. The flame, kept burning inside a small miner’s lantern, was placed on the ground in Victoria, BC at 9:01 a.m. today. Later it began its 45,000 km journey during which it will pass through over 1,000 communities across Canada on its “relay of peace and unity”, the longest relay in Olympic history. About 12,000 people will take their turns carrying the Olympic torch until it arrives back in Vancouver’s BC Place stadium on February 12, 2010 for the start of the Olympic Winter Games. The excitement is growing!

8 thoughts on “The Olympic Torch

  1. That’s really cool! I completely forgot there was an Olympics coming up (I’m more of a fan of summer, but I watch both). Woohoo!

    • I especially like the winter Olympics because of the figure skating. Since these games are in Vancouver, too, I’ll be paying even more attention, although will probably only get to watch events on TV since I can’t afford tickets to anything.

  2. joylene says:

    Our youngest son, Cory will be carrying the torch back in NB on November 25th. I’m not sure of the details yet becuz he’s out in the field. Cory’s a Sergeant in the Army. They still haven’t decided who will be the last to carry it. I’m hoping they all get their chance to be on TV. We’ll be hoping specifically that Cory’s on the news, of course.

    • That’s really special, Joylene! Such an honour to be chosen! If he doesn’t happen to make it onto TV hopefully others there will take pictures to send so you can post them on your blog.

  3. wikfamily says:

    Yaaaay! I’m counting down!!!

  4. Dave Ebright says:

    Deb’s the bigger fan of the Limpicks down here. ‘Specially likes the skating. Me? It’s okayyyyy. Now if they had pole vaulting on skates – I could get into that. Hey maybe this year I can figure out curling…. though I enjoy the idea of mixing sport with housekeeping.

    BTW – Go Cory!!

    • I curled a bit in my 20’s and 30’s but haven’t since. (Maybe it reminds me too much of housework?) I don’t mind watching it, but it’s a little like watching paint dry. I also watch some of the other sports, although I think mostly I like following the achievements of specific familiar athletes whatever sport they happen to be in.

I'd love to hear from you!

