NaNoWriMo – Getting SET…

BeakTotem

Beak

I know you’ve heard of getting all one’s ducks in a row, but hummingbirds are ferocious little things. I only need one of them. Beak is quite singular. There isn’t a whole row of him. I’m getting set for Sunday’s NaNoWriMo kick off and he alone perches atop my monitor, ready to peck at any ill-intentioned inner critic that may emerge during November to ridicule my writing.

Beak’s brutal in his role of protector. Really, he is! If you don’t believe me just lean in a little closer and sneer a bit. Be prepared to duck because he wields that beak like a two-edged sword. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. He’s poised to strike. (What? You think he looks like a little softie? Shhhhhh! Puleeeease don’t say that too loudly. I have to keep the IC at bay for an entire month.)

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Getting SET…

  1. Carol Benedict says:

    Love the hummingbird, Carol. I know from experience they can be quite aggresssive, but Beak looks friendly. Just keep sparkly things away from him and you two should get along fine. 😉

    Good luck meeting your goal for NaNoWriMo.

  2. CJ says:

    Thanks for dropping by The Pony Express. Good luck during NaNoWriMo. Have fun!

  3. Thanks, Carol and CJ. I’ve done the NaNo thing a couple times before but never made it quite to the 50,000 words before it was over although I did finish one of the novels later. I have a new one for which I’d like to get a first draft completed. Life often throws interruptions into the mix so we’ll just have to see how it goes.

I'd love to hear from you!

