National Book Award Finalists

national-book-awards-2009Finalists for this year’s National Book Award have just been announced. A total of 1,129 books were submitted by 193 publishers. Winners in the four categories (Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People’s Literature) will be announced at the National Book Foundation’s 60th anniversary celebration on November 18th in New York City.

NOMINEES IN THE FICTION CATEGORY:

  • Bonnie Jo Campbell, American Salvage (Wayne State University Press)
  • Colum McCann, Let the Great World Spin (Random House)
  • Daniyal Mueenuddin, In Other Rooms, Other Wonders (W. W. Norton & Co.)
  • Jayne Anne Phillips, Lark and Termite (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • Marcel Theroux, Far North (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

My questions: (1) How many of these titles have you read? (2) Do the various annual book awards influence your reading choices?

4 thoughts on “National Book Award Finalists

  1. Laura Best says:

    How many of these titles have I read? um none… I’m never influenced by book awards when it comes to reading. I start by choosing titles by specific authors and then perhaps word of mouth… I sometimes like to read local authors because I do feel it’s important to support our local talent.

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read any of these. I hadn’t even heard of any of them before the list came out! And I’m with you on every other point, too.

  3. Dave Ebright says:

    Haven’t read or heard of any of them. Never pay any attention to awards or NYTBS lists or other rankings or reviews. I find an author that I like – then buy everything they put out. Works for me.

    • Works for me, too, Dave, although like Laura I will also pick up something recommended by a friend, and I do buy a few books by local authors I know. But I’m always waiting impatiently for the next release by a favourite author.

I'd love to hear from you!

